Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Sticky substance - pillows MELTING ?!
Sticky substance - pillows MELTING ?!
Hi everybody

Long time since my last post.  I've been using Respironics Nuance gel pillows for over four years with no issues, until today.

I woke up with a sticky substance on my upper lip, and noted the same substance on the lower part of the mask, next to my lip, almost as if the thing had gone soft, and was melting.

This may be the weirdest thing I've ever seen, and I hope you don't think this is a joke! (And no, it's wasn't mucous.)

The pillow itself is only two weeks old. Has anybody ever experienced something like this before? Any ideas?

brianps
Stay Calm, Be Brave, Wait for the Signs
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Sticky substance - pillows MELTING ?!
Time to file down the nasal hairs.
Download SleepyHead
Organize your Sleepyhead Charts
Posting Charts
Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Mask Primer
Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies.

Membership in the Advisory Members group does not imply medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.

Post Reply Post Reply
I vaguely remember at least one report of gel leakage about 2 to 3 years ago, but not since then.  I don't remember which brand it was. I just remember a user posted of being awakened by a liquid running down their face, only to find that it was the blue gel from the mask.  

For the life of me, I can't find the post.  .  .  I even tried google but their results seem to target product sales rather than history.

Sorry I wasn't more helpful.
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com
Attaching Images and Files on Apnea Board
Apnea Helpful Tips