Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Stop Therapy Question
#11
Huh. I use auto-stop and auto-start all the time! Even when I get up once or twice a night for a potty run. It works wonderfully for me. Different brand machine from OP, but similar to some of the other posters.
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#12
I tried that feature early in my treatment, and it didn't work that well.

It is just as easy to hit the knob to turn on and off. My 2 cents. Eat-popcorn
OpalRose
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your SleepyHead Charts
Using Attachments to Post ScreenShots and Images.
Machine choices

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#13
There is a big difference in the speed that Autostart/ stop works between Resmed and Respironics. Resmed starts at the first breath, while Respironics takes several good strong breaths to start. Removing the mask on Resmed, the machine will stop in 10 seconds, while Respironics takes 30-45 seconds to stop.
Post Reply Post Reply
#14
(09-13-2016, 05:28 PM)Sleeprider Wrote: There is a big difference in the speed that Autostart/ stop works between Resmed and Respironics. Resmed starts at the first breath, while Respironics takes several good strong breaths to start. Removing the mask on Resmed, the machine will stop in 10 seconds, while Respironics takes 30-45 seconds to stop.


Sleeprider, thanks for the explanation.

It did seem to take a long time to get my PR machine to start, and that explains why I didn't care for the feature.

I had to breath really hard to get it to get it to start.
Too much work! Oh-jeez
OpalRose
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your SleepyHead Charts
Using Attachments to Post ScreenShots and Images.
Machine choices

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#15
(09-13-2016, 07:23 PM)OpalRose Wrote:
(09-13-2016, 05:28 PM)Sleeprider Wrote: There is a big difference in the speed that Autostart/ stop works between Resmed and Respironics. Resmed starts at the first breath, while Respironics takes several good strong breaths to start. Removing the mask on Resmed, the machine will stop in 10 seconds, while Respironics takes 30-45 seconds to stop.


Sleeprider, thanks for the explanation.

It did seem to take a long time to get my PR machine to start, and that explains why I didn't care for the feature.

I had to breath really hard to get it to get it to start.
Too much work! Oh-jeez

I have the same problem. I turn the machine on manually even though I haven't turned Autostart off. I feel like I'm not getting enough air if I wait on Autostart.

Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#16
I just used my Resmed S9 back-up machine for the first time last night. The difference between Resmed and Respironics auto start/stop is night and day. Respironics should just remove this feature. I was amazed at how natural and useful the Resmed version was.
Post Reply Post Reply
#17
For me the auto feature is great on the ResMed, on my Respironics it takes a while to start and stop. If I use the Respironics I shut it off with the button. As others have said, the ResMed is almost instantaneous. This actually sold me on the ResMed. I have the AirSense 10 Auto and the Dreamstation Auto and switch between them, but the AirSense gets more use.
Post Reply Post Reply
#18
I'm a control freak, so I use the button. Also, the SH graphs show a nice clean stop point, followed by a new ramp when I turn it back on.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Video why did my pressure just stop? Mouchet 2 91 10 hours ago
Last Post: Walla Walla
Smile Many months ago I asked her for tips on how I could optimise my CPAP therapy. Determinism 3 208 07-15-2018, 10:04 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Help needed with CPAP therapy ravik 13 539 06-10-2018, 09:44 PM
Last Post: ShaunBlake
  Resmed Airmini Therapy Data available? spacemanspiff 7 313 05-24-2018, 02:45 PM
Last Post: Fats Drywaller
  CPAP THERAPY? SMITHCK 12 454 05-24-2018, 02:30 PM
Last Post: Fats Drywaller
  [Treatment] Upper Airway Stimulation Therapy SideSleeper 3 527 05-18-2018, 07:17 PM
Last Post: DriverLou
  Question about DreamStation Therapy window gramma 1 198 05-14-2018, 10:09 PM
Last Post: tedvpap

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.