Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Stopped waking up without machine?
Stopped waking up without machine?
Hi all,

I've been using a machine for about 2 years and I found it helped, though it wasn't perfect.

I went on Vacation for 2 months and didn't bring my cpap machine. (Was worried about cockroaches getting into it)

Now I'm home and not using the machine. I notice I am not waking up and things are basically fine without the machine.

Does this mean I don't need the machine any more? 

I'm worried my body is just used to having the machine and is not waking up even though it is not getting the right amount of oxygen.

Before I got help for apnea, I felt like I was waking up A LOT, like 50 or more times. That is not happening now.

Any help is much appreciated.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Stopped waking up without machine?
you didn't say how you feel but i assume you would have if you didn't feel well. feeling lousy would be a telling sign.

have someone check on you throughout the night. if that's not possible, a video camera and/or audio recorder can help you determine if you're having apnea, snoring, thrashing, whatever. sleeping with your machine on lowest tolerable pressure setting may tell you something. minimal pressure is still some level of treatment but any events that you had would be indicative of continuing apnea.

the chances of some kind of recovery from apnea are slim but not unheard of. have you lost a lot of weight?

a sleep study (polysomnography) is the only accurate way to know. the next best thing, home sleep testing equipment can be rented from online and sometimes local sources.

also, search this site for info on relatively inexpensive oximeters supported by sleepyhead and oscar. that would answer your question about O2 levels.