Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Struggling
Gross 
Struggling
Hello everyone,

I've been a member of this website for a bit, but this is my first time posting. I am having a lot of trouble with my BiPAP machine and am hoping that you all can give me some advice. 
I'm averaging about an hour and a half to two hours with the machine at night at night (I have an AirCurve 10 ST with an AirFit P10 nasal pillow mask). I keep taking the mask off in my sleep and I don't know why. Sometimes I have to take off the mask because I wake up in the middle of the night with a parched mouth; this seems to come and go. The rest of the time I end up just taking it off in my sleep and I don't know why. I have an average of 11 or 12 AHIs every night.
I've tried cleaning my face, cleaning my mask, increasing humidity, decreasing humidity, increasing pressure, decreasing pressure; I've tried different BiPAPs, lots of different masks, different trigger settings and different respiration rates, and nothing works. I've only been able to keep the mask on for 6-8 hours a handful of times. I am always tired and have a continuous brain fog. 

What do I do? I grow weary of the BiPAP; Its not like I just need to get used to it, I've been on it for a year! What other treatment options are out there besides the BiPAP machines? I've heard of people using a kind of mouthguard to prop their airway open. Is there anything else that can help me? I certainly have sleep apnea, but it seems like there is nothing I can do to make the BiPAP work. It seems pointless to keep trying.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Struggling
G'day zrama. A belated welcome to Apnea Board.