Post Reply 
Switch ResMed S9 to AutoSet?
Author Message
grin0048 Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX Nano
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4-10
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Switch ResMed S9 to AutoSet?
Hello, I just thought I'd seek out a little advice regarding my CPAP therapy. I just started the therapy about two weeks ago using a resmed s9 autoset with H5i humidifier. As per the prescription, the machine was setup in CPAP mode at a pressure of 10.

So far, I've had a couple of minor issues. First, taking off the mask in the middle of the night--the times that I remember doing it was because I was finding it difficult to exhale against the pressure. Second, a couple of mornings I've had some pretty uncomfortable stomach pain. From what I've read here, I'm thinking I must be swallowing air at times.

Using the excellent resources on this site, I now know how to access the clinician setup functions. I'm not sure whether or not it was a bad idea, but I put the machine into AutoSet mode using a pressure range of 4-10 and also enabled EPR. The therapy is now noticeably more tolerable than it was, but, like I said, I'm unsure of whether I should do this or not and am looking for thoughts from the community. Thanks!
(This post was last modified: 07-07-2014 11:25 PM by grin0048.)
07-07-2014 11:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
MAPnea Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 182
Joined: May 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet - currently "set" on CPAP mode
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit F10 and P10 - varies
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: New Sleep Doc + New DME = Trying new approach to PAP therapy.

Sex: Female
Location: near Great Basin National Park, Nevada

Post: #2
RE: Switch ResMed S9 to AutoSet?
Hi, grin0048,

Welcome to the forum! Sounds like you've done some "tweaking" of your prescription and are feeling like your therapy is more tolerable. I'm wondering if you might have a discussion with your sleep doctor about the problems you were having with a "set pressure" of 10 and what you've done to find relief. You might also want to start using SleepyHead or the ResMed software in order to see how your therapy (and "tweaking") are working. Include that in your discussion with your sleep doctor.

Good luck!!
07-07-2014 11:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #3
RE: Switch ResMed S9 to AutoSet?
(07-07-2014 11:24 PM)grin0048 Wrote:  I'm not sure whether or not it was a bad idea, but I put the machine into AutoSet mode using a pressure range of 4-10 and also enabled EPR. The therapy is now noticeably more tolerable than it was, but, like I said, I'm unsure of whether I should do this or not and am looking for thoughts from the community. Thanks!
anything makes the therapy more tolerable cannot be a bad idea but rather a good idea
whats the data on the screen sleep report report, ahi, leak, pressure? software graph charts are more revealing of whats going on

resscan and sleepyhead download link http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Private-Files-and-Links

Welcome
07-08-2014 12:04 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Tez62 Offline

Monitors

Posts: 837
Joined: Feb 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 5-15
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post: #4
RE: Switch ResMed S9 to AutoSet?
grin0048, welcome, you are doing everything fine, those pressures seem ok, and the EPR is fine as well, you can set the EPR at 0,1,2 or 3, I prefere 3 but it is a bit of trial and error.
I'd suggest the next thing is to down load the free software from here, either Sleepyhead or Res Scan and start analysising the data more throughly.
You want your AHI to be as low as possible but below 5 and your leaks as low as possible but below 24l, hope this helps and please keep asking questions and good luck.
07-08-2014 12:10 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,453
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #5
RE: Switch ResMed S9 to AutoSet?
(07-07-2014 11:24 PM)grin0048 Wrote:  Hello, I just thought I'd seek out a little advice regarding my CPAP therapy. I just started the therapy about two weeks ago using a resmed s9 autoset with H5i humidifier. As per the prescription, the machine was setup in CPAP mode at a pressure of 10.

So far, I've had a couple of minor issues. First, taking off the mask in the middle of the night--the times that I remember doing it was because I was finding it difficult to exhale against the pressure. Second, a couple of mornings I've had some pretty uncomfortable stomach pain. From what I've read here, I'm thinking I must be swallowing air at times.

Using the excellent resources on this site, I now know how to access the clinician setup functions. I'm not sure whether or not it was a bad idea, but I put the machine into AutoSet mode using a pressure range of 4-10 and also enabled EPR. The therapy is now noticeably more tolerable than it was, but, like I said, I'm unsure of whether I should do this or not and am looking for thoughts from the community. Thanks!
Hi grin0048,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
You might try to set up and wear your mask and use your machine during the evening as you read or watch tv. This helps your body get use to this new way of sleeping.
Hang in there for more suggestions and best of luck to you with your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
07-08-2014 12:30 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
grin0048 Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX Nano
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4-10
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #6
RE: Switch ResMed S9 to AutoSet?
Thank you everyone for your input and for pointing me to the software--that's very nice having access to the data. It looks like my AHI and Leak numbers have improved in the nights since tweaking the therapy/

Now I just have to hope my sleep doctor doesn't give me trouble at my first follow up appt for messing with my therapy Wink
(This post was last modified: 07-09-2014 12:31 AM by grin0048.)
07-09-2014 12:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #7
RE: Switch ResMed S9 to AutoSet?
(07-09-2014 12:31 AM)grin0048 Wrote:  Now I just have to hope my sleep doctor doesn't give me trouble at my first follow up appt for messing with my therapy Wink

I doubt it'll be an issue. He'll be most interested in hours used and AHI and may not even notice that you changed your pressure.

On the other hand he may be happy that you did. Big Grin

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
07-09-2014 12:48 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Cloggd Nose elling with ResMed Airsense 10 AutoSet edmund36 5 187 12-09-2016 08:41 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,301 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  Is my ResMed S9 Autoset dying? gkainz 10 542 11-09-2016 11:35 AM
Last Post: gkainz
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense 10 broken on-off switch koshari 12 1,141 11-07-2016 05:19 PM
Last Post: Insomniac II
  [Equipment] Resmed S10 Autoset Humidifier question keithb4158 6 400 11-02-2016 05:13 AM
Last Post: keithb4158
  Resmed Airsense 10 CPAP data versus Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset data David P. 4 558 10-29-2016 08:42 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Resmed Autoset 10 alarm sound Ibiban 3 262 10-28-2016 07:30 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)