Post Reply 
Switching from constant pressure to autoset
Author Message
Bluedragon Offline

Members

Posts: 6
Joined: Sep 2015

Machine: Resmed s9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro air
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Switching from constant pressure to autoset
currently I have a pressure setting of 12, and have had that for over a year and always done well at that pressure. Lately tho, I'm not sleeping as well and I'm considering trying to switch the machine to auto set b/c I think I need more pressure. I really don't want to have another sleep study done due to cost. Any advice?
10-02-2015 09:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #2
RE: Switching from constant pressure to autoset
I'm in the same boat, 9-14 works for me, no Ramp or EPR .... YMMV

You want 95th percentile and maximum lower than 14 (does not have to be by much)
Download SleeoyHead software (link is at the top of the page) so you can see whats going on in details
10-02-2015 09:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Bluedragon Offline

Members

Posts: 6
Joined: Sep 2015

Machine: Resmed s9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro air
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #3
RE: Switching from constant pressure to autoset
Thanks for the info zonk. I'm def gonna download the software soon, I would imagine I need an sd card for the machine also. I recently switched jobs and my new job has a lot of sitting time which I've never been used to, so I have put on an extra 20lbs. I'm thinking that's maybe why I'm noticing a diff in sleep. I just sent an email to the admin on this site asking for a manual on my machine b/c I have never messed with any of the settings since I first started using it a cpl yrs ago. I know one thing, I couldn't sleep without it now and never want to go back to the way I was b4 I had it, was pretty scary stuff once I learned that I had osa

What does YMMV stand for?
(This post was last modified: 10-02-2015 09:46 PM by Bluedragon.)
10-02-2015 09:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #4
RE: Switching from constant pressure to autoset
YMMV means Your Mileage May Vary. It is common in car adverts; it is slang for: Things may be different for you.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
10-02-2015 10:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #5
RE: Switching from constant pressure to autoset
Check if the SD card in the machine, the SD slot on the S9 is above the air filter, you'll see a bit sticking out, push it in and the card comes out
Otherwise you'll need both the SD card and SD card reader, if your computer does not have SD card slot

The S9 AutoSet provide detailed information on the long version of the sleep report (press and hold both silver buttons for 3 seconds)
You'll need first to set "Sleep Quality" to "ON", (not Usage) in the clinical menu. To see last night data, the period need to be set on "1 Day"
All explained in the clinical manual and the instructions with the video setup here http://www.apneaboard.com/resmed-s9-cpap-setup

The S9 sleep report display usage, pressure, leak, AHI, AI, Central AI
AHI = AI (obstructive + central) + hyponea index
Hyponea index = AHI - AI
Central AI included in AHI and AI
Pressure and leak numbers are 95th percentile numbers, been at or below this number for 95% of the night

Even without the software, the sleep report information gives us some idea of what is happening

All can be daunting at the start, but after a while, becomes as easy as reaching for a cold bottle of water or beer from the fridge, could do with one on this hot day, getting hotter in the next coming days
10-03-2015 01:30 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #6
RE: Switching from constant pressure to autoset
(10-03-2015 01:30 AM)zonk Wrote:  The S9 sleep report display usage, pressure, leak, AHI, AI, Central AI
95th percentile pressure only displayed, when the machine on "AutoSet" mode
10-03-2015 02:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Bluedragon Offline

Members

Posts: 6
Joined: Sep 2015

Machine: Resmed s9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro air
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #7
RE: Switching from constant pressure to autoset
I know I had to mail the sd card in once a month in the beginning so they could review it and I think they kept it after the last time but I'll look. I suppose mine has all of those capabilities, or atleast it says autoset near the power button. It's just starting to get cool here where I am zonk, down in the 40's the past two nights. As far as interpreting all that info it will take me some time. I do remember when I had the original sleep study done that out of 5 hrs I had 130 apneas, and 160 hypopneas, and I had some kind of rating of 50. I think they said that is a severe rating
(This post was last modified: 10-03-2015 04:14 AM by Bluedragon.)
10-03-2015 04:11 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
DeepBreathing Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 2,296
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 VPAP Adapt
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: EPAP: 9 - 15 PS: 3 - 10
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post: #8
RE: Switching from constant pressure to autoset
(10-03-2015 04:11 AM)Bluedragon Wrote:  As far as interpreting all that info it will take me some time. I do remember when I had the original sleep study done that out of 5 hrs I had 130 apneas, and 160 hypopneas, and I had some kind of rating of 50. I think they said that is a severe rating

Hi Bluedragon. Those numbers are an indication of the severity of the apnea. They are reported as an index, which is the total number of events divided by the time slept. So in your case:

Apnea index (AI) = 130 events / 5 hours = 26.0
Hypopnea index (HI) = 160 / 5 = 32.0
Apnea - hypopnea index (AHI) = AI + HI = 26.0 + 32.0 = 58

An AHI over 30 is regarded as severe. You goal is to get that AHI number as low as possible (at least below 5), get a good night's sleep, and feel well and refreshed.

DeepBreathing
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Bed

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
10-03-2015 04:29 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #9
RE: Switching from constant pressure to autoset
It does not matter how severe AHI diagnoses, the real AHI is while being treated, below 5 is fine, the lower is the better

You'll need find out what is AHI and leak at fixed pressure 12, so you have something to compare once you go on auto setting
Auto might not the panacea but something worth a shot to see whether can improve things
The Autoset only increase pressure in response to snoring, flow limitation and apnea, but no response to central apnea
At times might be on lower pressure and other times might need a bit more pressure to deal with events or sleeping position, ...
10-03-2015 07:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,331
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #10
RE: Switching from constant pressure to autoset
I tried the auto function of my S9 without success. My breathing patterns trick the Resmed algorithm causing the S9 go to .2cm below the maximum set pressure. If I set the S9 at 8-20, it will go to 19.8. I have it set at a straight 10cm now and have sub 1's as an AHI. I would like to try a P-R just to see how it responses to me.

BTW:
(10-02-2015 09:45 PM)Bluedragon Wrote:  What does YMMV stand for?

PaulaO2 has published a list of acronyms used around here. Here is the link:
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...ht=acronym

This and many more tidbits can be found in the Member Help Forum.

Good Luck

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
10-03-2015 07:45 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Switching Machines owlgirl63 4 241 12-04-2016 05:11 AM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr
  Which disturbs sleep most? High Pressure or Changing Pressure Rcgop 7 1,279 11-10-2016 07:37 PM
Last Post: Sleep2Snore
Money DME BRAND SWITCHING srlevine1 4 371 08-25-2016 01:12 PM
Last Post: Mosquitobait
  Switching from CPAP to APAP KSMatthew 19 913 08-23-2016 02:21 PM
Last Post: KSMatthew
  advice on switching from pillows to a FFM tml678 12 828 07-28-2016 05:02 AM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr
  Resmed S9 Autoset - Pressure problem Chrono9084 15 17,450 07-20-2016 06:26 PM
Last Post: dannyaustralia
  Lower max pressure affecting pressure increases Rcgop 9 720 07-17-2016 07:03 PM
Last Post: green wings

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)