Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Symptoms] First night on the job Question
Question 
First night on the job Question
Just had my CPAP set up and completed my first night on it last night. I'm new to all of this and upon waking today, I felt better upon waking than I have in Months.. Besides the usual getting the Humidity and temp to my own comfort level I have two primary questions.

I slept for 7 hours uninterrupted, woke up at 5am and while not believing how awesome that it was to not notice any events, felt like there was a small pressure on my chest. In no way was this painful or uncomfortable and I wasn't having a hard time breathing just the muscles were shall I say funky. LOL.. I had another hour to sleep so I just took off my mask and slept the last hour without it. I had a similar experience the morning after my sleep study and it was gone within an hour of waking.

My questions are .....

1. Did I cheat myself removing the mask the last hour.. and/or should I not have done that.
2. Will that weird feeling go away after my body gets used to the Machine.

Thank you all in advance for any ideas/thoughts on my Apneanoobness... Smile
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: First night on the job Question
Welcome!

Congratulations on an unusually easy and successful first night. You will be the envy of many, I am sure.

Our advice is usually to avoid ever sleeping without the mask. You are not doing yourself any favours.

The feeling in your chest is probably the muscles getting used to exhaling against the small pressure. It will quickly disappear.

It only gets better from here!
Post Reply Post Reply
Turborob2005,
Welcome to Apnea Board!