Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Symptoms] Periodic breathing
Periodic breathing
WHi I'm new to this. I was diagnosed with mild to moderate sleep apnea a few moths ago. I also suffer from paroxysmal atrial fibrillation. I'm having an ablation on the 3rd may. 
I saterted auto CPAP about 8 weeks ago and it was set at 4-20. I had my review after 4 weeks. My AHI on DreamMapper was between 7 and 18. The technician said, when she downloaded the sd card "oh dear your having cheyne stokes respirations. She was una Kennedy to explain what this meant. I also asked if I could set the apap to say 8-12 a sample my average 90% pressure was 10.5. She said no it's fine as it is. Anyway I later set it to 9-13. My AHI has been mainly 2-6.7 since, with an occasional 13 or 16. It's spread evenly between oa,can and hypopneas. It says I'm having 16% average periodic breathing. Can anyone say what might be going on?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Periodic breathing
Hi garywych - Welcome to the forum!

I would recommend that you download #SleepyHead analytical software to obtain more detailed information on your sleep patterns. This will help in seeing what needs to be adjusted.  Just click on the #SleepyHead name to download the software.
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com
Attaching Images and Files on Apnea Board
Apnea Helpful Tips

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply