Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Symptoms of hypersomnia + low AHI
Symptoms of hypersomnia + low AHI
Hi there!

I try to keep it brief: I got diagnosed with OSA five months ago although my measured AHI was pretty low (4.2 - 6.1, not including any central apnea).
The reason for that was my report of sleep inertia, concentration problems and prolonged sleep times up to 40h which more or less would also fit the diagnosis of hypersomnia. 

So I've been using my APAP device for a few months now in order to treat this but so far hasn't been successful. My doctor (actually a somnologist) wants to continue CPAP therapy, I personally don't mind because the mask doesn't bother me too much. However as I stated that the device doesn't make anything better other than my daily morning headache, he just wrote a letter of referral to a sleep clinic where I have an appointment in February next year, but this is only the preliminary talk so god knows when the treatment / diagnosis starts here.

Since I didn't want to sit idly by, I started to keep a look at my CPAP data with OSCAR and found several things which trouble me and these findings are the actual reason why I registered here.

First of all, let's start with the report:

I know that the compliance is actually pretty low which is mostly due to me trying to getting up, removing the mask, falling asleep again due to severe sleep inertia. 
The overall AHI is in an area which is afaik considered good, the leak rate is pretty bad but due to the lack of obstructive apneas I wonder if it matters much anyway.