Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Therapy Questions [high AHI, smoker, drink alcohol]
Therapy Questions [high AHI, smoker, drink alcohol]
Hello, I am new to CPAP and I'm glad to be part of this community (unfortunately  Smile ).

Sorry in advance if this post should be under some different subject and if any of my questions are already explained before (then please just send me a link to that).

I have problem with snoring over 20 years, and probably last 10 years people were noticing that I stopped breathing during the night (probably it was longer than that). Last two years i started closing my eyes while driving, in the morning after "sleeping" I was still tired with severe dryness in mouth that I mumbled first 10-15 seconds and couldn't speak, was sleeping in company of friends in the caffe bar and similar... Also was breathing through mouth, but fortunately CPAP machine thought/force me to breathe through nose. Unfortunately it took me 2 years to go to the doctor.

On polysomnography (Alice Nightone) my AHI  was 88 and was diagnosed with heavy apnea and started treating it at hospital with same machine I have at home, but with other nasal mask where tube is going from nose. After first night I was already feeling better during the day and in 3 nights I spend in hospital results were dropping (15, 7 and then 4.5).

I am using it 3 weeks at home and have average AHI of 4.8. My first question is can I get it under 1, or considering that my polysomnograph AHI was 88, is this very good?