Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Thinking of Switching from Full Mask to Nose Mask
Thinking of Switching from Full Mask to Nose Mask
Hello Friends,

Looking for some advise on switching from a face mask to a nose/nasal mask.  I’ve been using a standard mask for the last 8 months with good success. However, the gas has been an issue?.  I’ve dialed down the pressure from 10 to 9 with no relief.  I was never given the option to switch to the nose mesk.  But, my dr does not seem to be opposed.

Anyone out there have any experience with switching from a full mask to a nose mask?  Did it help with the gas?   Thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Thinking of Switching from Full Mask to Nose Mask
I've used both and I don't think the mask will make any difference with gas. It has more to do with swallowing air which can happen with any mask.

Some find elevating their head up can help reduce the problem.
Download SleepyHead
Organize your Sleepyhead Charts
Posting Charts
Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Mask Primer
Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies.

Membership in the Advisory Members group does not imply medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.

Post Reply Post Reply
If you are not a mouth breather then the nasal mask is much better as air leakage is definitely less than the full face mask ( at least, the air leakage aroung the perimeter of the cushion ) .
Post Reply Post Reply
I have only ever used the nasal mask, the AirFit N20.  I still get some aerophagia some nights.  It's never perfect, but some nights seem to be worse than others.