Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

AHI skyrocketed with new mask
AHI skyrocketed with new mask
I have been using Airfit P10 nasal pillow for a few years. I recently changed to the full face Airfit F10 due to leakage because I stated mouth breathing.
Upon changing to the full face mask my leakage went down but my AHI which was in the 5 range is now about 15.
Should I be retested? Could it be that my pressured is not correct? My current pressure is 11. I am using the Airsense Auto 20 as a CPAP as per my physician.
Thank you for your input.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: AHI skyrocketed with new mask
The mask changed, not you, so getting re-tested seems pointless. These machines have a mask type setting on them, did you update this? It could also be that your brain is getting adjusted to the new, different sensations and preventing you from getting into deep sleep. So the increased AHI might be more sleep/wake junk. I have also found that different mask types result in AHI changes for me, so an adjustment in pressure might be needed. Taking a look at some SleepyHead graphs might help isolate what is happening.

Post Reply Post Reply
(11-02-2016, 03:48 PM)jjso Wrote: I have been using Airfit P10 nasal pillow for a few years. I recently changed to the full face Airfit F10 due to leakage because I stated mouth breathing.
Just how bad were the leaks with the P10?

Quote:Upon changing to the full face mask my leakage went down but my AHI which was in the 5 range is now about 15.
That is a huge jump. But without knowing a lot more about the leaks with both masks and the breakdown of events with the new mask it is hard to answer your question:
Quote:Should I be retested?