Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Thoughts on mouth breathing and xPAP effectiveness?
Thoughts on mouth breathing and xPAP effectiveness?
Hi, I was hoping I could get a few opinions on an issue I've been having trouble with.  I have terrible trouble breathing nasally, especially at night.  I luckily have a Mirage Quattro full face mask and my sleep physician said that mouth breathing should not prevent successful therapy with my ResMed Autoset 10 if I have my full face mask correctly sealed.  I have, however, heard from others that nasal breathing is highly recommended to the extent of almost being a necessity for success with any xPAP device.  Can anyone chime in on this subject with their experiences and opinions? 

I have been using my Autoset 10 for just about two months now and I really can't say I've experienced any improvements, so I am trying to gauge whether that may be because of my issues breathing with my nose.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Thoughts on mouth breathing and xPAP effectiveness?
Nasal breathing is generally regarded as superior to mouth breathing in everyday life, and I think this has carried over into attitudes towards CPAP. In fact many technical papers refer to the treatment as nCPAP (nasal CPAP) with the inference that only nose breathing is acceptable.

However it has to be recognised that many people can't breathe through the nose due to congestion, deviated septum or other reasons. That's why we have full-face masks. Early in my CPAP experience I got a lot of congestion which caused me to mouth-breathe, with no detrimental effects except for a dry mouth. Over time the congestion disappeared and I now breathe through the nose, but I still like a full-face mask.