Post Reply 
Tips for SpO2 Assistant 3.0.0 in Windows
Author Message
shawn42 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 36
Joined: Jun 2016

Machine: Philips DreamStation AutoBiPAP
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips DreamWear
Humidifier: detachable-- currently not using this
CPAP Pressure: 4-10 EP/IP, 2-4 PS, 3 BiFlex
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Using CMS50IW Pulse Oximeter; Diagnosis AHI 60.2 with 74% O2 Desaturation Nadir

Sex: Male
Location: US

Post: #1
Tips for SpO2 Assistant 3.0.0 in Windows
Just wanted to share my recent experience with the SpO2 Assistant 3.0.0 software that came with my CMS50IW Pulse Oximeter. At first it all seemed simple enough, but I quickly realized there were some quirky things going on with file permissions in Windows. This is because Windows requires elevated privileges to write to any location under your Program Files folders. Most programs understand this and store your user data off somewhere under My Documents, but I guess these guys decided to cut corners or simply ignore safe computing practices.

I connect to my CMS via USB cable, so in the SpO2 Assistant's connections screen, I just disable all the Bluetooth options and then I mark the "View device stored data only" box. In the next screen, when I chose the segment(s) I wanted and clicked "Receive", I monitored my data directory located at "C:\Program Files (x86)\SpO2 Assistant V3.0.0\Data" and noticed that I couldn't see the new files there. However, if I chose to open files from within the SpO2 Assistant program, those files did indeed show up. Since the whole idea is to point SleepyHead to those files for consumption, this was not good enough.

I searched high and low and couldn't find a way to pick a new default data directory for the SpO2 Assistant to save its files. So I managed a little workaround using symbolic links. Here are the steps:

1) Create a new directory called "Data" somewhere where you have appropriate file permissions, like anywhere in or under your Documents folder (e.g. "C:\Users\YOUR_USERNAME\Documents\SpO2\Data")

2) Backup any of your existing SpO2 files from "C:\Program Files (x86)\SpO2 Assistant V3.0.0\Data" (or wherever) into your new Data folder.

3) Delete the "Data" folder located at "C:\Program Files (x86)\SpO2 Assistant V3.0.0\" along with any files inside, since you already backed them up.

4) Open an Administrative Command Prompt, like this for Win 8 or 10 or like this for Win 7.

5) Referencing the mklink command, type the following:
Code:
mklink /J "C:\Program Files (x86)\SpO2 Assistant V3.0.0\Data" "C:\Users\YOUR_USERNAME\Documents\SpO2\Data"
being sure to substitute the paths with the appropriate path for your user. The basic syntax is
Code:
mklink /J NEW_LINK_LOCATION ACTUAL_EXISTING_LOCATION

Now if you followed everything correctly, you should see a new folder icon in your SpO2 Assistant V3.0.0 directory called "Data" which has a little arrow in the icon that makes it look like a shortcut. That's exactly what it is. Now we're tricking SpO2 Assistant into thinking it has a Data folder like it expects to see, but since the actual location is in your user's Documents folder, the program can actually write its files correctly without elevated privileges.

Alternatively, you could just run SpO2 Assistant as an Administrator every time you download files from your device, but this method is safer and more convenient in the long run.
(This post was last modified: 06-30-2016 07:40 PM by shawn42.)
06-30-2016 07:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,329
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #2
RE: Tips for SpO2 Assistant 3.0.0 in Windows
shawn42,
Since Win 7 there has been an intermittent file ownership problem on certain programs and won't allow the user to access or modify the files. I have a script to modify the registry that will add a command to the options menu to allow you to take file ownership when these problems occur. It also comes with a removal script if you decide to remove it. Although I can't think of a reason that you would want to remove it.

Post or PM me if you're interested.

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
06-30-2016 10:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
beet Offline

Members

Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 2016

Machine: Resmed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Dreamwear
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 5-11
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Silicon Valley

Post: #3
RE: Tips for SpO2 Assistant 3.0.0 in Windows
Firmware version?

I received my CMS50IW yesterday. Although shipped directly from the manufacturer Contec (ordered through Alibaba Express), it seems to be an older version because the software disc had the older version 2.7 of SpO2 Assistant.

My firmware version is 0.9 (from the System menu on the wrist device).

I'd be grateful if anyone else who has a CMS50IW would post what firmware version they have.
10-07-2016 05:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,329
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #4
RE: Tips for SpO2 Assistant 3.0.0 in Windows
I have the CMS-50IW. Both its firmware and software are version 0.9 and the SpO2 Assistant is version 2.7. What versions were you expecting?

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
10-07-2016 10:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
beet Offline

Members

Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 2016

Machine: Resmed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Dreamwear
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 5-11
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Silicon Valley

Post: #5
RE: Tips for SpO2 Assistant 3.0.0 in Windows
(10-07-2016 10:07 PM)Crimson Nape Wrote:  I have the CMS-50IW. Both its firmware and software are version 0.9 and the SpO2 Assistant is version 2.7. What versions were you expecting?

The OP said his shipped with SpO2 Assistant version 3.0. I was especially interested to know whether the units shipped with the newer software also have newer firmware.
10-08-2016 12:23 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  ResScan 5.5 cannot run in Windows 10 ant08 6 346 12-01-2016 12:21 PM
Last Post: cbramsey
  Can SleepyHead export SpO2 data? SaldusMiegas 3 255 09-23-2016 09:02 PM
Last Post: beet
  Can I still get Encore Viewer software to work? Windows 10... ValGal333 7 958 09-05-2016 05:17 AM
Last Post: AUDavidSydney
  Encorebasic - cant open on windows 10 computer stephennic 2 256 09-01-2016 12:37 AM
Last Post: stephennic
  CMS-50F graph not matching SPo2 assistant 2.8 Marthajoy7 0 171 08-12-2016 11:04 PM
Last Post: Marthajoy7
  Using Encore on Windows 10 SideSleeper 2 457 07-18-2016 03:01 PM
Last Post: SideSleeper
  ResScan and Windows 10 skydoc01 13 1,555 07-04-2016 05:51 PM
Last Post: AlanE

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)