Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Too much pressure?
Too much pressure?
I've been using my CPAP machine for a few months.  Overall, it has had a positive impact.  However, I frequently find myself removing the mask about 2-3 hours into sleep.  I feel as though I can't breathe.  I'm wondering if this could be too much pressure?

Has anyone else run into this?  Is there anything I can try to remedy this?

A little background.  I have very mild apnea.  My reports indicate I have approx 1 apnea incident per hour while using the therapy.
I have the Resmed Autoset10 using the nasal pillows.
I'm using the 20-min ramp feature.  I have the temp set to 81f and humidity set to 5.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Too much pressure?
You probably need to fine-tune the settings on your machine. The best way to do this is to get the free #Sleepyhead software. You can also see useful data on your machine's sleep data by setting Essentials to PLUS rather than just ON. This gives more detailed event data and pressure information to help you find out what your effective pressure range is. A setting of 5-20 is basically a wide-open default and is not the best approach once you have some baseline data.

In addition, your use of Ramp is simply unnecessary. With a minimum pressure of 5.0, I would turn off ramp, or set it to Auto so that it detects sleep onset and resumes therapy pressure. Your humidity setting appears very high, and may be contributing to humidity induced congestion.