Post Reply 
Transferring SleepyHead Data to 2nd Computer
Author Message
peelsaenpa Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: REMstar Auto (System One 60 Series)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: amara
Humidifier: Philips
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #1
Transferring SleepyHead Data to 2nd Computer
I have recently installed SleepyHead on my desktop computer & imported data from my SD card. In a few weeks I will be away from home for 3 weeks. I'm taking along my CPAP & laptop, so that I can continue using SleepyHead during that time.

It's a long story, but I had some problems importing data for the 1st time on my desktop computer. SleepyHead "paused" (program not responding) a couple of times & took much longer than expected to load about 8 months of data. My laptop is much slower than my desktop, so I anticipate possibly having similar (maybe worse?) problems with the 1st import.

My question is . . .
Can I install SleepyHead on my laptop & then simply copy "My Documents\SleepyHeadData-Testing\" (all folders & files) to a thumb drive & paste to the appropriate location on the laptop? That should be a "1-shot deal". When I return home (to my desktop computer) & for subsequent trips (with my laptop) SleepyHead will have smaller amounts of data to import (not the entire SD card).
02-27-2016 10:51 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,335
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #2
RE: Transferring SleepyHead Data to 2nd Computer
Hi peelsaenpa.

Welcome to the forum.

The answer is, "Yes". I normally use my desktop with SleepyHead but wanted it on 2 laptops that I have. I just copied both main SleepyHead directories (program and data) to the laptops without any problems.

Good luck!

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
02-27-2016 12:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleeprider Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,398
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #3
RE: Transferring SleepyHead Data to 2nd Computer
I have also networked Sleepyhead to work on more than one computer in the same network on a shared drive. This avoids the need to maintain two data sets.

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
02-27-2016 06:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
LanceC Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 76
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit™ F10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 14-25
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Aurora, IL

Post: #4
RE: Transferring SleepyHead Data to 2nd Computer
(02-27-2016 06:12 PM)Sleeprider Wrote:  I have also networked Sleepyhead to work on more than one computer in the same network on a shared drive.
Sleeprider,
Do you download to your local PC and then transfer the data to your share or do you download directly to the share?
Have you noticed an increase in the time it takes to download your SD card?

I've started a thread on my problem with this here.

This space for rent.
03-06-2016 06:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleeprider Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,398
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #5
RE: Transferring SleepyHead Data to 2nd Computer
Both computers simply point to the same location on the desktop server. On the desktop the path starts with C:\ users...Sleepyhead on the laptop, the drive on the desktop is mapped, so it is G:\users...Sleepyhead. The documents directories are shared anyway, and that is where Sleepyhead data resides. Keeping documents on a single drive and syncing backups avoids the problems of multiple versions that don't match.

There are a lot of ways to do this, and if you travel a lot, you could even point Sleepyhead to a cloud folder to sync. It doesn't take that much space.

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
03-07-2016 08:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
LanceC Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 76
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit™ F10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 14-25
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Aurora, IL

Post: #6
RE: Transferring SleepyHead Data to 2nd Computer
My setup is slightly different.

I have the SleepyHead data on a Dell file server. The 3 PCs I access it from all have the same share mapped.

This should work fine, but it takes 30 minutes to download an SD card and I have no idea why.

This space for rent.
03-07-2016 09:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
pholynyk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 308
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 APAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: included
CPAP Pressure: 11-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #7
RE: Transferring SleepyHead Data to 2nd Computer
If you are having SleepyHead read the SD card on your local computer, but have the data stored on the network drive, I would suspect that the network and file system overhead of transferring each small record one at a time is what is killing you. I don't know that for certain because I haven't read the import code, but I think it's a safe bet that if you used the local computer as SleepyHead storage, things would go faster. Once the import was finished, you could rsync the files over to your network drive after you quit SleepyHead.

Feel free to rewrite those first two sentences into as many as you like... without changing the meaning, of course Smile
03-07-2016 05:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
LanceC Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 76
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit™ F10
Humidifier: Built in
CPAP Pressure: 14-25
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Aurora, IL

Post: #8
RE: Transferring SleepyHead Data to 2nd Computer
(03-07-2016 05:21 PM)pholynyk Wrote:  If you are having SleepyHead read the SD card on your local computer, but have the data stored on the network drive, I would suspect that the network and file system overhead of transferring each small record one at a time is what is killing you. I don't know that for certain because I haven't read the import code, but I think it's a safe bet that if you used the local computer as SleepyHead storage, things would go faster. Once the import was finished, you could rsync the files over to your network drive after you quit SleepyHead.

Feel free to rewrite those first two sentences into as many as you like... without changing the meaning, of course Smile

If I store the files locally then sync them to the network it goes very quickly, yes. But also, just moving the local files to the network share goes quickly as well, so I'm not sure it's the overhead of many small files.

I may have to chalk it up to Stupid Computer Tricks™ and use Google Drive.

This space for rent.
03-07-2016 05:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Sleepyhead oximeter data-wrong days awoodby 5 495 11-04-2016 11:27 PM
Last Post: SaldusMiegas
  SleepyHead on iMac with OS X - importing oximetry data Possum 9 969 11-04-2016 12:28 PM
Last Post: AlanE
  Sleepyhead crashes on data import gerryjock 3 229 11-03-2016 10:45 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  backing up sleepyhead data storywizard 2 230 10-21-2016 11:24 AM
Last Post: storywizard
  Sleepyhead Showing Partial Data jbsix 6 319 10-19-2016 12:21 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Location/Format of SleepyHead Data TillerBee 8 994 09-26-2016 10:11 PM
Last Post: beet
  Can SleepyHead export SpO2 data? SaldusMiegas 3 263 09-23-2016 09:02 PM
Last Post: beet

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)