Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Travel/Environmental Causes of CA events
Question 
Travel/Environmental Causes of CA events
Hey all- I am curious if anyone has had an experience similar to mine, lower AHI when sleeping in different environments/traveling.

I have been using CPAP for the last 2+ months. AHI has averaged 1-4, always predominately clear airway events, using Resmed A10 Auto. I currently live in southern CA, and when traveling this past month 3 times (Vegas, Vegas, Baltimore), each time my AHI was significantly lower while away (AHI <1) and higher when I got back home. (AHI 8.5 last night, nearly all CA events).

Trying to discern what factors are at play here as machine settings have stayed the same. I've been starting to wonder/test if its sleep pillow related, pet/dust related, ambient humidity/AC related (AC on two trips, heater in chilly weather the other). Slept with the window open last night at home for the first time in awhile and had a lot of CA events.

I wash my mask with a brush often to make sure it is venting. Leak rate and mask fit is usually pretty good. In my lab split study I had no centrals on short diagnostic portion and a few (7) centrals scored during entire titration. Given Rx pressure of 10 but caused a lot of CA events at home and through trial/error found fixed 6.2 EPR 1 was giving me the best AHI.

About to go buy a standing Hepa filter and see if that helps at all... I want that good sleep! Anyone else experience this? Make changes to your environment with positive effect on AHI? Or experience getting to the bottom of pressure induced CA events?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Travel/Environmental Causes of CA events