Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Traveling to UK with cpap
#1
Does anyone have any good advice on what to do if traveling to a different voltage? I have the Resmed Auto sense 10 for her and will be traveling to the UK soon. Thanks.
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
have you talked with your DME about this?

If they are unresponsive, search for ResMed corporate (I'm pretty sure they are in San Diego, Ca.), call them and ask the technical support dept.

I'm sure they'll set you straight.
Warning: Eating chocolate may cause your clothes to shrink!
[Image: ry6XtE9.gif] <---- That's ME!
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
you only need an inexpensive adapter plug for the UK. The machine power supply accepts 220v.


AC Input Range - 90W Power Supply: 100 - 240V, 50 - 60Hz, 1.0 - 1.5A, Class II

Post Reply Post Reply


#4
The UK plug looks like this: (below)
You just need an adapter from the US plug to the UK plug. They're available at most places like Radio Shack.
And, most UK outlets have a switch at the plug -- be sure to switch on the outlet.
Now, if you go to continental Europe, you'll need a different adapter.

[Image: BritishPlugforWikipedia.jpg]
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Hi somnia16,
I hope you have a nice trip to the UK.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
Thanks to all! Yes, those Uk plugs are v. clunky compared to the American ones!
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
(08-12-2016, 03:09 PM)somnia16 Wrote: Yes, those Uk plugs are v. clunky compared to the American ones!

I believe the UK plugs have a fuse built in, which accounts for some of the bulk.

Enjoy your trip!
DeepBreathing
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Bed

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
Shops in many airports sell a Travel Kit which include adaptors for most countries, so you can buy them all in one hit.

#6 Yes they are clunky compared to US and continental plugs, won't bore you with all the history, but much of it is down to the fact that in the early days us primitives used high current devices, electric kettles and fires, and the design of our domestic electrical systems.

Yes, they do have a built in fuse.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Traveling with CPAP Cooljulutah 22 567 02-13-2017, 09:55 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2
  [News] Traveling with CPAP - advice from a long-haul truck driver ApneaNews 1 547 08-02-2016, 05:16 PM
Last Post: green wings
  Traveling with CPAP/Bi-PAP 4GadgetMan 18 1,857 11-29-2015, 12:13 AM
Last Post: quip
  Newbie traveling with CPAP in airport for 1st time quip 38 5,695 11-01-2015, 09:02 AM
Last Post: 49er
  Traveling to Dubai next month, do I just need a type G adapter? mrkdilkington 5 786 10-27-2015, 10:33 AM
Last Post: robertbuckley
  [Equipment] Traveling both in US and Overseas Questions Bimrin 9 1,946 06-27-2015, 07:13 PM
Last Post: joabo
  Traveling with CPAP thefer 43 5,973 06-07-2015, 06:46 PM
Last Post: WSHenry

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.