Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Treatment] Airsense 10 Autoset reporting high AHI compared to S9
#1
I had been using Resmed S9 for year and half with reported AHI around 3 with the pressure set to 11. I was doing well on it.

For various reasons, I had to buy another machine and this time I got the Airsense 10 autoset. Now my reported AHI is 10 with pressure running around 9. All my settings are on Auto.

I believe most of the time its user error that causes issue. Anyone have any insights on what I can do to fix it. What setting can I change to get back my S9 performance? Anyone face this situation?

Needless to say my sleep sucks and I am paying the price at daytime.

Any suggestions will be helpful.

++++++++ Settings +++++++++++++
All set to Auto
EPR is on 3
Use nasal Mask
I get smiley face on everything
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Which S9?
Your 10 series Autoset is running in what mode: Auto or straight CPAP?
If Auto, what min and max pressure is it set to?
===============================
If you were running an S9 in CPAP fixed pressure of 11; and are now running a 10 series Autoset in auto mode, then your min and max pressure should bracket 11. Especially important would be min pressure. It should only be about 2 below 11 = 9. If it's set to say 4 or 6, then you will have apneas before the machine advances pressure.

Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
(01-20-2016, 12:13 AM)justMongo Wrote: Which S9?
Your 10 series Autoset is running in what mode: Auto or straight CPAP?
If Auto, what min and max pressure is it set to?
===============================
If you were running an S9 in CPAP fixed pressure of 11; and are now running a 10 series Autoset in auto mode, then your min and max pressure should bracket 11. Especially important would be min pressure. It should only be about 2 below 11 = 9. If it's set to say 4 or 6, then you will have apneas before the machine advances pressure.

Thank you very much justMango. I was using Resmed S9 elite. Now my Airsense 10 runs on auto. However, my bracket was from 4 to 13 I realize now from your post it should probably be 9-12 since my sleep study said I should run on 11. I cap it at 13 from a safety point of view.

I am assuming changing this bracket will not change my start pressure as I like the start of 4 and let it ramp up as I fall asleep.

I will try it out tonite and see if it makes a difference and report back for any one who might be running into something similar.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
HI smallur,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
I wish you much success as you continue your CPAP therapy, good lukc with the new machine.
Hang in there for more responses to your post.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
(01-20-2016, 01:10 AM)smallur Wrote:
(01-20-2016, 12:13 AM)justMongo Wrote: Which S9?
Your 10 series Autoset is running in what mode: Auto or straight CPAP?
If Auto, what min and max pressure is it set to?
===============================
If you were running an S9 in CPAP fixed pressure of 11; and are now running a 10 series Autoset in auto mode, then your min and max pressure should bracket 11. Especially important would be min pressure. It should only be about 2 below 11 = 9. If it's set to say 4 or 6, then you will have apneas before the machine advances pressure.

Thank you very much justMango. I was using Resmed S9 elite. Now my Airsense 10 runs on auto. However, my bracket was from 4 to 13 I realize now from your post it should probably be 9-12 since my sleep study said I should run on 11. I cap it at 13 from a safety point of view.

I am assuming changing this bracket will not change my start pressure as I like the start of 4 and let it ramp up as I fall asleep.

I will try it out tonite and see if it makes a difference and report back for any one who might be running into something similar.

smallur,
If you are going to use ramp with a start pressure of 11, then your ramp start should be closer to your start pressure.

Try setting ramp to start at 7 or 8. That shouldn't bother you if you were using a Cpap pressure of 11.

OpalRose
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

How to Organize and Post ScreenShots

http://sleep.tnet.com/resources/sleepyhead/shorganize
https://sleep.tnet.com/reference/tips/imgur

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply
#6
It will not change your ramp.
However, starting the ramp too low has several negative aspects.
1) Some users feel that 4 does not provide enough air; so, they start out at 6.
2) The mask may not leak at ramp start but will by end of ramp. (One reason I do not use ramp.)

Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply




Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  High CA in PSG and with Bipap J Duffy 62 1,163 11-17-2017, 11:26 AM
Last Post: J Duffy
  Why High AHI using DreamStation vs AirSense 10?? Fixit50 20 745 11-15-2017, 02:08 PM
Last Post: Shin Ryoku
  [split] New member - Res-Med AirSense S10 CPAP or Autoset BJ54 6 186 11-13-2017, 01:39 PM
Last Post: Sleep2Snore
  I got my Airsense 10 Autoset today. alarsen77 22 495 11-10-2017, 01:14 AM
Last Post: alarsen77
  Unusual low & High Pulse Rate ( Seeking Advise ) BlueJay22 3 141 11-03-2017, 08:34 PM
Last Post: ajack
  Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Fails update MyAir skylark 2 256 10-23-2017, 07:26 PM
Last Post: TASmart
  Wireless connection issue in Canada on AirSense 10 Autoset? josephww 16 615 10-23-2017, 04:13 PM
Last Post: GrantT

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.