Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Brand new to this
RE: Brand new to this
Low tidal volumes aren't necessarily anything to be worried about on their own. What's your height and weight again?
Look, I'm an engineer, not a doctor! Please don't take my opinion as a substitute for medical advice.
Post Reply Post Reply
I'm 6ft, 225lbs. Fairly muscular but a bit of body fat aswell if that makes a difference
Post Reply Post Reply
From a quick Google search I've found that tidal volume should be 6-8ml/kg.
So for me thats over 600-800 and most nights it's been less than 450 at this current setting. I don't think it went higher than 550ish on lower pressures either.
My insp/exp breathing is pretty even again now too where i had higher exp than insp with lower pressures. Does that mean the tidal volume is more effected by my expiratory rate?
On another not that I don't think I've mentioned, my nose breathing isn't always great. It always feels partially blocked and when doing a covid test I can only get the swab in my right nostril and not my left.

This all might be irrelevant but I'd like to rule everything out.
Post Reply Post Reply
Tidal volume is a fairly broad range, and more closely correlated to height than weight. The reason for this is because your lungs are situated within your thoracic cavity, bounded entirely by your bone structure. No amount of muscle or fat you add or take away changes this. I'm a couple/few inches taller than you and low-mid 400s was where I trended before my nasal surgery, now I track high 400s up to 500.