Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Treatment] Fragmented Sleep - Waking up multiple times throughout the night - Help
Fragmented Sleep - Waking up multiple times throughout the night - Help
Hi, 

By a way of brief introduction, I am new to the sleep apnea community. I was diagnosed with sleep apnea (OSA mild, AHI of ~13) in late October and purchased my CPAP (AirSense 11, with AirFit P10 mask) in December 2022. 

Prior to starting CPAP therapy, my sleep was very fragmented. I would wake up every 1-2 hours to urinate, drink a sip of water, and then repeat each time I woke up. I generally fell back asleep very quickly. However, I felt fatigued in the morning due to not getting "deep sleep" because of my OSA. 

When I started CPAP therapy in December 2022, within the first week, there were some very good sleeps. I noticed a big enough difference that I did not need a coffee to get through the next day. On those days, my sleep was less fragmented. For example, there would be periods where I would sleep for 3-4 hours before waking up. I find the AirFit P10 nasal pillow to be very comfortable since I am a side sleeper. 

As 2 months have passed now on CPAP therapy, I noticed that normally my sleep is still very fragmented, waking up every 1-2 hours. Each time I wake up, my bladder feels uncomfortable and I need to urinate (even if it's very little pee), drink a tiny sip of water, and then this makes me comfortable enough to fall back asleep. I generally go to bed at 11pm and stop drinking fluids and eating by 9pm. I also try to drink lots of water throughout the day.