Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Treatment] Hypopnea question
Hypopnea question
Hi Guys
I’ve been using CPAP for 18 months now and have had great success. My AHI has been averaging .5 - 3. 
Over the past few weeks my AHI has been getting higher and is now generally 5 or above. Looking at my stats my actual apnea’s haven’t increased particularly but I’m having many more 
hyopneas. I’m assuming an increase in pressure is the correct course of action?
Any input would be appreciated.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Hypopnea question
Increases in minimum pressure of 0.5 cm increments will show the improvement most likely. You should not have to increase maximum pressure unless you frequently find you hit that mark. You can also experiment with flex settings. The Philps AFlex ans CFlex seems to increase hypopnea at higher settings.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
(10-26-2018, 08:26 AM)Sleeprider Wrote: Increases in minimum pressure of 0.5 cm increments will show the improvement most likely.  You should not have to increase maximum pressure unless you frequently find you hit that mark.  You can also experiment with flex settings.  The Philps AFlex ans CFlex seems to increase hypopnea at higher settings.

Thanks for your advice.
I’ve increased the pressure gradually over the past few nights with little change.