Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Treatment] New to the board, having trouble sleeping
New to the board, having trouble sleeping
Hello.
I have been doing the Bi-Pap thing for 15 years. Nine days ago I got a new machine (Res Med Air Curve 10 VAUTO) which is suppose to be set up like my old one (17-21) & yet I have yet to get a decent night's sleep. In the first week I did not sleep a wink. My on-line event log shows 10.2 events per hour.
One more factor: I quit drinking beer 75 days ago. I feel like I am going to die unless I get some sleep. Any advice?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: New to the board, having trouble sleeping
Just a quick check - how much were you drinking daily, how fast did you quit, and did you have professional help to do it? At a certain level, stopping alcohol, or some other depressant drugs, may result in a period of re-adaptation to normal body rhythms and this could be part of it.

If you download SleepyHead, get some screen shots, upload them to something like IMGUR, and then provide a link here(after a minimum of 4 posts), we'll be able to offer more feedback. Without that, we'd be guessing.

Note: I'm an epidemiologist, not a medical provider. 
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi Beej.

Thanks for the reply. I did not drink daily. But, enjoyed a beer buzz @ times. I quit all at once with no help. When I had some beer I could count on sleeping, at least for a few hours.

It was not until I got the new machine that I got insomnia. I even tried going back to the old machine & that does not help. Somehow I feel @ peace thinking that "This too shall pass."

I'm thinking perhaps I may need more pressure??? I will download SleepyHead & then see what that is about. Right now I am using "my air web".

LittleLuLu
Post Reply Post Reply