Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Treatment] S9 doesn't auto adjust
#1
My ResMed S9 does not automatically adjust when on Autoset.

I had a great experience at the sleep study with the ResMed S9. They used pressures 6-9. The doc wrote the prescription for 6-14. My machine would automatically go to 14. It was too much and air was exhausinsting through my mouth. I had the pressure changed to 6-9, which is now tolerable, but the pressure still automatically goes to 9. My AH1s are less than 1. So, I cannot figure out why it was going up to 14 previously, or why it automatically goes to 9.

I tested the machine by putting it on and not going to sleep. I stayed wide awake reading a book. I'm assuming that being wide awake, I wouldn't have any apneas, and the pressure would stay at 6. Nope. The pressure automatically goes to 9.

So, it isn't auto titrating, or automatically adjusting. I've checked that it's on the "Autoset" setting.

Can anyone explain this to me?
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Hello Ellsworth and welcome

I don't know exactly whats going with your machine, could be faulty, have you reported to the supplier?

The machine sleep report display 95th percentile pressure, have you checked it out?

Download the software, so you can see whats showing in the pressure graph and statistics (median, 95th percentile, and maximum)
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
I've tried 2 machines and it's happened on both, so I think it's not the equipment.

The pressure just keeps increasing to the maximum, even if I'm not sleeping
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Hi Ellsworth,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
I'm not sure what is causing your problem but hang in there for more suggestions. Hopefully, you'll get your CPAP situation straightened out.
Much success to you as you continue your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Take the card out and try your "read a book while wearing it" experiment again. Two machines from the same place makes it sound as if there is something on the card that is wrong. Like they are setting the machine but the card has a command on it for something else.
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply
#6
Welcome!

Download the SleepyHead program and look at your data.

See what it says your settings are.

See if your pressure starts low and drifts upwards slowly.

The machine doesn't only look at apnea. It also looks at "flow limitations" and may increase pressure even if it doesn't report apneas.

You may actually need higher pressure due to these flow limitations and what's called UARS. It may also be that your breathing pattern confuses the machine.

Auto pressure doesn't work for some people. Luckily, all the auto machines can be set to a fixed pressure or a narrow pressure range. Since you have a fully data capable machine, you can adjust the manual pressure or pressure range up and down and see the results and find the pressure that works best for you.
Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
(11-27-2014, 06:38 PM)Ellsworth Wrote: So, it isn't auto titrating, or automatically adjusting. I've checked that it's on the "Autoset" setting.

Hi Ellsworth, welcome to the forum!

The machine may be autotitrating but, like Archangle wrote, your breathing may show characteristics of Flow Limitation, causing the machine to raise the pressure.

If it is not too late, I suggest exchanging the machine for the new A10 AutoSet For Her model, so you can try the gentler AutoSet For Her therapy mode.

The A10 AutoSet For Her (unlike the S9 AutoSet For Her) has 3 therapy modes, fixed-pressure CPAP therapy mode, standard AutoSet therapy mode, and the new gentle AutoSet For Her therapy mode. The A10 AutoSet for Her has everything the standard A10 AutoSet has, plus more, so it is like three machines in one.

The AutoSet For Her therapy mode raises the pressure more gently. It also includes the added feature that the Minimum Pressure setting will auto-adjust if needed, to better maintain an adequate therapy pressure.

The A10 AutoSet For Her model is the only ResMed model which reports Respiration Effort-Related Arousal (RERA) events. (RERAs are arousals caused by respiratory effort but RERAs do not qualify as hypopneas and are not counted in the AHI because the reduction in breathing was not at least 50%, or the Oxygen desaturation during the RERA was not deep enough.)

Take care,
--- Vaughn

Added: Another good option may be to try switching to the Philips Respironics System One REMSTAR Auto With Heated Hose.
Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
I'm leaning towards Paula theory, the machine does not ramp pressure to the maximum in a flash

or maybe the machine set in CPAP mode, you need confirm it in the clinical menu, also you can view the setting at the long version of the sleep report (that will confirm the setting too)

If I make a bet with myself guessing the pressure display on the screen before turn off the machine
(while lying awake in bed first thing in the morning)
I win most of the times, usually around the minimum Coffee
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Should I adjust my Dreamstation pressure? javila 7 322 07-08-2017, 04:44 AM
Last Post: Ockrocket
  Dreamstation Auto - Auto Start Takes a While littlefatcat 8 301 06-17-2017, 01:47 AM
Last Post: Hydrangea
  How to adjust temp on resmed airsense 10 dee73 6 313 06-11-2017, 08:31 PM
Last Post: CHanlon
  ResMed Adjust ASV Settings to AutoASV Settings ronsch00 4 193 06-09-2017, 10:57 PM
Last Post: DeepBreathing
  Need help to adjust Dreamstation Auto CPAP lmost 12 811 05-06-2017, 08:31 AM
Last Post: Fedman
Question Adjust Settings or Leave Them Be? Melman 15 877 04-07-2017, 10:22 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  SleepWeaver masks - how to get machine to auto adjust? ihatesleepapnea2017 14 492 03-17-2017, 05:03 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.