Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Trying to understand apnea and cpap
Trying to understand apnea and cpap
I am a newbie that has just finished a sleep study that found obstructive sleep apnea. My question is: can the cpap machine eliminate me from HAVING the apneas? Or will it just help me to breathe through the apneas that are going to always be there no matter what?

I know this is a question for my doctor, but my post-appointment study is not for a few weeks yet.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Trying to understand apnea and cpap
G'day KCap, welcome to Apnea Board.

An apnea event occurs when your airway collapses, blocking the flow of air. This might be a collapse of the soft palate or the back of your tongue into the airway. CPAP works by applying gentle pressure to splint the airway open, preventing the blockage. So, it prevents apneas occurring, but only while the machine is running. It doesn't "cure" your sleep apnea, but "treats" it.

Hope this helps.
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi KCap,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
I wish you good luck with your CPAP therapy, hang in there for more responses to your post.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
(10-27-2016, 04:23 AM)KCap Wrote: I am a newbie that has just finished a sleep study that found obstructive sleep apnea. My question is: can the cpap machine eliminate me from HAVING the apneas? Or will it just help me to breathe through the apneas that are going to always be there no matter what?

I know this is a question for my doctor, but my post-appointment study is not for a few weeks yet.

+1 on DeepBreathing's explanation.

An obstructive apnea occurs when something blocks your airway, the CPAP air pressure prevents that from happening. So you don't really breathe "through" an apnea because it didn't get a chance to happen.