Post Reply 
UF1 and UF2 in SleepyHead
Author Message
rkl122 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 74
Joined: Apr 2016

Machine: Philips Respironics System One 560P (Auto, Aflex, 60 Series)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: PR Dreamware Frame Med, Pillow MW
Humidifier: Remstar System One - Hose Unheated
CPAP Pressure: low 8.5, high 12.5, expting
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: NJ

Post: #1
UF1 and UF2 in SleepyHead
Hello. I activated the two SH user defined functions, leaving default values, just to see what would show up. Bad idea. I now have a slew of new events. But before I even try to make any sense out of them, a couple preliminary questions:

1. The 20% flow restriction channel has far fewer events than the 50% restriction channel. Shouldn't the opposite be expected?

2. Two additional channels show up, labeled PRS1_0b and PRS1_0e. The first of these has zero events most nights, one or two on a few nights. The second has lots of events every night. All events show in the flow graph as ticks, just as pressure pulses do. They do not occur simultaneously with the events in the UF channels (but they do have numbers (durations?), some large, parenthetically associated, eg. prs1_0e(574) ). What are these channels and how are they interpreted?

I'm using SH v. 1.0.0-beta-1

Thx, -Ron

We are such stuff
As dreams are made on, and our little life
Is rounded with a sleep.
(This post was last modified: 06-21-2016 02:35 PM by rkl122.)
06-21-2016 02:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
AlanE Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,499
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 & Mirage Liberty backup
Humidifier: Built-in
CPAP Pressure: 10-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

Sex: Male
Location: Southwest Florida

Post: #2
RE: UF1 and UF2 in SleepyHead
After turning on those you should rebuild your data from the menu. Just an FYI the 20%/50% events do not count against your AHI total. They are informational only in that respect.

[Image: SH-Rebuild-Data.JPG]



Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. Access through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.

I wanted to learn Binary so I enrolled in Binary 101. I seemed to have missed the first four courses. Big Grinnie
06-22-2016 07:51 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
DeepBreathing Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 2,297
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 VPAP Adapt
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: EPAP: 9 - 15 PS: 3 - 10
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post: #3
RE: UF1 and UF2 in SleepyHead
G'day Ron

(06-21-2016 02:19 PM)rkl122 Wrote:  1. The 20% flow restriction channel has far fewer events than the 50% restriction channel. Shouldn't the opposite be expected?

I think the default is 80% restriction (at least it is on Beta 2) so I would expect it to have fewer events than the 50%. However, there's also the duration to be taken into account, which could push the result one way ot the other.

Quote:2. Two additional channels show up, labeled PRS1_0b and PRS1_0e. ... What are these channels and how are they interpreted?

If you go to Files | Preferences | Events, you'll see that there are a bunch of PRS events which JediMark has labelled "Unknown PRS1 Code". They show up in the machine outputs but are not documented. SleepyHead gives you the option of reporting them, but the author doesn't know what they are (and hence likely of little consequence).

Quote:Bad idea. I now have a slew of new events.

Not really. These "events" were always there, it's just that they weren't being recorded. In all forms of therapy somebody needs to draw a line to define what is significant and what is not. For sleep apnea, the line is drawn at 10 seconds - longer than that and it is recorded as an apnea or hypopnea, shorter than that and it's not recorded. SleepyHead lets you see events which fall outside the "official" definition (in other words below that line). If you're getting a lot of these and they're around 8 or 9 seconds they might have some clinical effect. Or they might not... Dont-know

DeepBreathing
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Bed

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-22-2016 08:43 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
rkl122 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 74
Joined: Apr 2016

Machine: Philips Respironics System One 560P (Auto, Aflex, 60 Series)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: PR Dreamware Frame Med, Pillow MW
Humidifier: Remstar System One - Hose Unheated
CPAP Pressure: low 8.5, high 12.5, expting
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: NJ

Post: #4
RE: UF1 and UF2 in SleepyHead
Thanks for responding guys.

AlanE - When I activated the user functions, there was a dialog that said the program had to do something, and I needed to close and restart. I'm assuming that was a rebuild, but maybe not. If I explicitly do the rebuild, will I be able to reverse to the default display later?

DeepBreathing - I'm using Beta-1, so maybe there's a bug in the display as to the parameters associated with each UF.

Quote:If you go to Files | Preferences | Events, you'll see that there are a bunch of PRS events which JediMark has labelled "Unknown PRS1 Code". They show up in the machine outputs but are not documented. SleepyHead gives you the option of reporting them, but the author doesn't know what they are (and hence likely of little consequence).
Thanks for that! I turned them off. Funny thing, they seem to have been checked by default (along with a bunch of others which nevertheless don't appear on the graphs), so something about enabling the two UFs also enabled those two channels as well.

Quote:Not really. These "events" were always there, it's just that they weren't being recorded. In all forms of therapy somebody needs to draw a line to define what is significant and what is not. For sleep apnea, the line is drawn at 10 seconds - longer than that and it is recorded as an apnea or hypopnea, shorter than that and it's not recorded. SleepyHead lets you see events which fall outside the "official" definition (in other words below that line). If you're getting a lot of these and they're around 8 or 9 seconds they might have some clinical effect. Or they might not... Dont-know
Understood they were always there and are not in AHI. Question is should I worry about them. Many are 8 sec, but a significant number are in the teens or even higher. Oy.

I'm frustrated with having gotten my AHI reduced to the 5-7 range, but can't seem to break 5. Guess I'll focus full attention on that before worrying about these grey area events.

Thanks again, -Ron

We are such stuff
As dreams are made on, and our little life
Is rounded with a sleep.
06-22-2016 11:15 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
AlanE Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,499
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 & Mirage Liberty backup
Humidifier: Built-in
CPAP Pressure: 10-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

Sex: Male
Location: Southwest Florida

Post: #5
RE: UF1 and UF2 in SleepyHead
(06-22-2016 11:15 AM)rkl122 Wrote:  Thanks for responding guys.

AlanE - When I activated the user functions, there was a dialog that said the program had to do something, and I needed to close and restart. I'm assuming that was a rebuild, but maybe not. If I explicitly do the rebuild, will I be able to reverse to the default display later?

Yes, not a problem to just shut those user flags off later. It should toggle them off without you having to do another rebuild.



Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. Access through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.

I wanted to learn Binary so I enrolled in Binary 101. I seemed to have missed the first four courses. Big Grinnie
06-22-2016 12:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)