Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Time Zones, and Clock Skews, and Poorly Designed Devices, Oh My!
Idea 
Time Zones, and Clock Skews, and Poorly Designed Devices, Oh My!
Hi everyone, I'm new to Sleep Apnea and OSCAR (diag. MOSA 1/14/2022, finally received my first APAP from my DME after a very lengthy delay on 5/6/2022). I'm a software engineer by trade as well as a Linux enthusiast (zealot? are we still using that one?).

In addition to my ResMed 11 there in the sidebar I bought a Wellue/Viatom Checkme O2 Max for oximetry.

I'm just getting started and after trying to import both of these sets of data into OSCAR I ran into some issues, did some research, and made some observations I wanted to share.

After finding that all my CPAP data was time shifted wrt my oximetry data I searched around here and found some interesting threads (sorry I can't make them links yet, newbie):

.../forums/Thread-Airsense-11-Time-Zone-Change
.../forums/Thread-Time-zone
.../forums/Thread-Feature-request-Air11-time-zone-have-OSCAR-do-the-right-thing

Which led to discovering the clinical menu and that my already beloved DME did not set the time zone correctly (came set to GMT-5). This also led to the related discoveries that I can't change the time zone without erasing all the data, I can't set the time at all, and that the unit won't adjust the time zone for DST.

So without syncing (which I have no intention of doing, so drift will also become a problem) it's not even clear which time zone I should set it to, if I change it at all. At best I'm only kicking the problem down the road. Due to the noon-noon issue, I may be better served setting a time zone which keeps my anticipated wake time further away from noon during standard time, though that isn't a huge concern.