Post Reply 
Upgrade procedure for ResSan
Author Message
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #1
Question Upgrade procedure for ResSan
In going from RS 5.1 to 5.3, should one:
a) Remove 5.1 then install.
b) Just install over 5.1

It's more of a Windows question. As many of you know Windows has is idiosyncrasies.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
02-20-2015 12:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
player Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 412
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: Resmed A10 Autoset For Her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed A10
Humidifier: Resmed A10 Autosset
CPAP Pressure: 11-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: It's a... mad world...

Sex: Male
Location: Canada

Post: #2
RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan
Not sure about this software, but 99.9% of programs you just upgrade without deleting the old copy. If it needs to be deleted the upgrade will normally take care of it. If a manual removal is required I would think they would make that clear.
(This post was last modified: 02-20-2015 12:27 PM by player.)
02-20-2015 12:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #3
RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan
When I did that I just installed the new version without worrying about the old version.
02-20-2015 12:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #4
RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan
addenda: Yesterday, RS 5.1 hung for some reason. I could not kill the process.
I ended up holding the power button for 4 seconds to force a power down.
When I restarted, my RAID array (RAID 1 mirror) did a verify and repair.
It takes 2 hours; and the machine is nearly unusable during the process.
It found and repaired 10 errors.

Perhaps, I should turn off all disk write caching?

My system:
Dell 8700 with i7 core 4770 @ 3.4 GHz
Intel Z87 chipset
24 GB DDR3 1600 MHz RAM with latency 11.
EVGA GT 750 Ti superclocked GPU.
2, WD Black 1 TB HDDs in RAID 1 mirror
460 Watt OEM PSU.
Windows 7, 64bit Pro.
IRST version 12.0.2.1001

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
(This post was last modified: 02-20-2015 12:59 PM by justMongo.)
02-20-2015 12:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
player Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 412
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: Resmed A10 Autoset For Her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed A10
Humidifier: Resmed A10 Autosset
CPAP Pressure: 11-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: It's a... mad world...

Sex: Male
Location: Canada

Post: #5
RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan
(02-20-2015 12:56 PM)justMongo Wrote:  addenda: Yesterday, RS 5.1 hung for some reason. I could not kill the process.
I ended up holding the power button for 4 seconds to force a power down.
When I restarted, my RAID array (RAID 1 mirror) did a verify and repair.
It takes 2 hours; and the machine is nearly unusable during the process.
It found and repaired 10 errors.


If you right click on the bottom task bar and open "Task Manager", then go to applications, highlight the program that is hung, then "end task", you should be able to stop it that way without shutting down.
02-20-2015 09:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #6
RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan
(02-20-2015 09:17 PM)player Wrote:  If you right click on the bottom task bar and open "Task Manager", then go to applications, highlight the program that is hung, then "end task", you should be able to stop it that way without shutting down.

Tried that. It was like a zombie that could not be killed.

This morning MSIE 11 stopped working. A little Google fu using FireFox show that others had the same issue caused by Norton.
An update from Norton fixed their problem.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
02-21-2015 11:07 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,330
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #7
RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan
(02-21-2015 11:07 AM)justMongo Wrote:  This morning MSIE 11 stopped working. A little Google fu using FireFox show that others had the same issue caused by Norton.
An update from Norton fixed their problem.

I had the same problem with Norton. It caused headaches for other programs as well. I finally removed and got something else, now I don't have any problems.

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
(This post was last modified: 02-21-2015 11:45 AM by Crimson Nape.)
02-21-2015 11:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #8
RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan
(02-21-2015 11:44 AM)sgearhart Wrote:  I had the same problem with Norton. It caused headaches for other programs as well. I finally removed and got something else, now I don't have any problems.

Now that's some great news! To get rid of my problems all I have to do is remove Norton? That's great........... Now, if I can just figure out where Mrs. R_G is keeping him.
02-21-2015 12:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #9
RE: Upgrade procedure for ResSan
(02-21-2015 12:30 PM)retired_guy Wrote:  
(02-21-2015 11:44 AM)sgearhart Wrote:  I had the same problem with Norton. It caused headaches for other programs as well. I finally removed and got something else, now I don't have any problems.

Now that's some great news! To get rid of my problems all I have to do is remove Norton? That's great........... Now, if I can just figure out where Mrs. R_G is keeping him.

He's with Jackie Gleason (aka: Ralph Kramden.)
Art Carney played his neighbor, Ed Norton.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
02-22-2015 11:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question should I upgrade? technico 11 826 04-01-2016 09:23 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Ready for an upgrade partsman 25 1,899 03-02-2016 03:06 AM
Last Post: partsman
Cool [Equipment] Time to upgrade ttfespe 6 726 02-02-2016 12:14 PM
Last Post: ttfespe
  Modifying the titration procedure Jimsp1 1 413 01-13-2016 04:54 PM
Last Post: justMongo
  Need some settings help re: upgrade TO Resmed AirCurve10 VAuto FROM Resmed S9 VAuto bilbofett 9 1,601 12-21-2015 01:40 PM
Last Post: eseedhouse
  Over-The-Air Software upgrade for Airsense under pressure 1 1,690 03-10-2015 04:13 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Pillar Procedure? Romax 2 852 02-02-2015 03:04 PM
Last Post: archangle

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)