Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Upgrade procedure for ResSan
#1
Question 
In going from RS 5.1 to 5.3, should one:
a) Remove 5.1 then install.
b) Just install over 5.1

It's more of a Windows question. As many of you know Windows has is idiosyncrasies.

Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
Not sure about this software, but 99.9% of programs you just upgrade without deleting the old copy. If it needs to be deleted the upgrade will normally take care of it. If a manual removal is required I would think they would make that clear.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
When I did that I just installed the new version without worrying about the old version.
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
addenda: Yesterday, RS 5.1 hung for some reason. I could not kill the process.
I ended up holding the power button for 4 seconds to force a power down.
When I restarted, my RAID array (RAID 1 mirror) did a verify and repair.
It takes 2 hours; and the machine is nearly unusable during the process.
It found and repaired 10 errors.

Perhaps, I should turn off all disk write caching?

My system:
Dell 8700 with i7 core 4770 @ 3.4 GHz
Intel Z87 chipset
24 GB DDR3 1600 MHz RAM with latency 11.
EVGA GT 750 Ti superclocked GPU.
2, WD Black 1 TB HDDs in RAID 1 mirror
460 Watt OEM PSU.
Windows 7, 64bit Pro.
IRST version 12.0.2.1001

Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
(02-20-2015, 12:56 PM)justMongo Wrote: addenda: Yesterday, RS 5.1 hung for some reason. I could not kill the process.
I ended up holding the power button for 4 seconds to force a power down.
When I restarted, my RAID array (RAID 1 mirror) did a verify and repair.
It takes 2 hours; and the machine is nearly unusable during the process.
It found and repaired 10 errors.


If you right click on the bottom task bar and open "Task Manager", then go to applications, highlight the program that is hung, then "end task", you should be able to stop it that way without shutting down.
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#6
(02-20-2015, 09:17 PM)player Wrote: If you right click on the bottom task bar and open "Task Manager", then go to applications, highlight the program that is hung, then "end task", you should be able to stop it that way without shutting down.

Tried that. It was like a zombie that could not be killed.

This morning MSIE 11 stopped working. A little Google fu using FireFox show that others had the same issue caused by Norton.
An update from Norton fixed their problem.

Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply
#7
(02-21-2015, 11:07 AM)justMongo Wrote: This morning MSIE 11 stopped working. A little Google fu using FireFox show that others had the same issue caused by Norton.
An update from Norton fixed their problem.

I had the same problem with Norton. It caused headaches for other programs as well. I finally removed and got something else, now I don't have any problems.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
(02-21-2015, 11:44 AM)sgearhart Wrote: I had the same problem with Norton. It caused headaches for other programs as well. I finally removed and got something else, now I don't have any problems.

Now that's some great news! To get rid of my problems all I have to do is remove Norton? That's great........... Now, if I can just figure out where Mrs. R_G is keeping him.
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
(02-21-2015, 12:30 PM)retired_guy Wrote:
(02-21-2015, 11:44 AM)sgearhart Wrote: I had the same problem with Norton. It caused headaches for other programs as well. I finally removed and got something else, now I don't have any problems.

Now that's some great news! To get rid of my problems all I have to do is remove Norton? That's great........... Now, if I can just figure out where Mrs. R_G is keeping him.

He's with Jackie Gleason (aka: Ralph Kramden.)
Art Carney played his neighbor, Ed Norton.

Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Radio Frequency Turbinate Reduction - Procedure, Recovery Protocol, and Recovery. fitmart 5 192 02-04-2018, 08:08 PM
Last Post: car54
  Sudden Change to AHI After Dreamstation Firmware Upgrade RWhipkey 18 1,237 01-26-2018, 05:47 AM
Last Post: ajack
  AirSense S10 vs S9 Autoset: Should I Upgrade? Tabbycat 11 621 12-14-2017, 10:08 PM
Last Post: Tabbycat
  When to upgrade machine? Jerzasnore 33 1,531 08-14-2017, 02:24 PM
Last Post: Jerzasnore
  Upgrade from brick stanleydean 9 682 03-30-2017, 10:57 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  10 years...upgrade time? fat1 8 885 01-05-2017, 06:37 PM
Last Post: PaytonA
Question should I upgrade? technico 11 1,355 04-01-2016, 09:23 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.