Post Reply 
Using a UPS
Author Message
gumbloid Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 6
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: ResMed
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage SoftGel Nasal
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 10
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Canada

Post: #1
Using a UPS
Good day fellow CPAP users,

I had a quick question: have any of you had any success using a UPS (Uninterruptible power supply) in conjunction with your CPAP machine. Over the last couple of years, I have noticed (especially in the summer) sporadic power outages; some are minutes, others are hours. For those using a UPS is there a particular brand and model number? Any input would be greatly appreciated.
06-08-2015 07:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
player Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 412
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: Resmed A10 Autoset For Her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed A10
Humidifier: Resmed A10 Autosset
CPAP Pressure: 11-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: It's a... mad world...

Sex: Male
Location: Canada

Post: #2
RE: Using a UPS
Yes they work. But not for long, especially with the humidifier on. There are threads that go into this in great detail if you search...

The UPS will save you from outages though.
06-09-2015 06:25 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Homerec130 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 445
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: Philips/Resperonics BiPAP auto SV Advanced System One (950P)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quatro FX
Humidifier: Philips Respironics System 1
CPAP Pressure: 6-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: But it is a dry heat.

Sex: Male
Location: Tucson, AZ

Post: #3
RE: Using a UPS
If you plug it into the right slots, UPS make good surge protectors also. Had a UPS stop a surge from a near by lightning strike at work. The high dollar surge unit plugged into the other outlet fried itself and took the electronics that were plugged into it with it. Nothing happened to the units plugged into the UPS.

Homer
06-09-2015 03:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
parkerdt Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 256
Joined: May 2015

Machine: ResMed A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: WISP, Nuance
Humidifier: Climate Hose and included humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: I alternate between WISP and fabric Nuance - like both!

Sex: Male
Location: Mebane, NC

Post: #4
RE: Using a UPS
How about the ResMed dedicated BBU? Anyone use it? Claims to be able to run for 13 hours with the humidifier, but compared to a large UPS it is tiny. Something in the laws of Physics don't make sense here....
06-09-2015 08:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #5
RE: Using a UPS
(06-09-2015 03:28 PM)Homerec130 Wrote:  If you plug it into the right slots, UPS make good surge protectors also. Had a UPS stop a surge from a near by lightning strike at work. The high dollar surge unit plugged into the other outlet fried itself and took the electronics that were plugged into it with it. Nothing happened to the units plugged into the UPS.

Homer

Most consumer grade UPS's these days are "standby" mode units and just connect the input to the output when the power is on. The UPS part of the unit provides no protection. Most consumer grade UPS's have a surge protector built into the box, but I suspect it's no better than separate surge protectors.

An online/double conversion UPS does give you a certain degree of extra protection, but they're more expensive.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
06-10-2015 04:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
ClarkK Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 33
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: Philips Respironics REMstar Auto A-Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Philips Nuance Pro
Humidifier: Philips
CPAP Pressure: 9.5 - 15 ... for now
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Loving my CPAP since day one in January 2015

Sex: Male
Location: Red Oak, NC

Post: #6
RE: Using a UPS
As I understand it, a UPS would get you through short outages, but wouldn't power a CPAP through the night. There are rechargeable battery setups people have done with marine batteries, and there are also rechargeable battery products sold specifically for CPAP -- some of which can be used to automatically kick in when an outage is imminent.

Different CPAP machines have different power requirements -- so make sure whatever you do is appropriate for your equipment.

______________________________________
Lovin' my CPAP since day 1! (January 2015)
If we aren't cleanin' it we're breathin' it!

"Take it as it comes, specialize in having fun"
-- Jim Morrison
06-10-2015 09:14 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
ddefendi Offline

Members

Posts: 18
Joined: Jun 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Elite
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10
Humidifier: Built In
CPAP Pressure: 10
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: South Carolina

Post: #7
RE: Using a UPS
(06-08-2015 07:28 PM)gumbloid Wrote:  Good day fellow CPAP users,

I had a quick question: have any of you had any success using a UPS (Uninterruptible power supply) in conjunction with your CPAP machine. Over the last couple of years, I have noticed (especially in the summer) sporadic power outages; some are minutes, others are hours. For those using a UPS is there a particular brand and model number? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

I have a number of UPS systems at home for a lot of electronic equipment.

Never thought of getting one for my new CPAP (just 5 days old).

APC has one model, their Power Saving Back-UPS Pro 1500 with an output of 865watts/1500va. Their Battery Run Times are 2hrs at 50w and 1 hr at 100 watts. My Resmed Airsense 10 Elite uses 53w at typical power consumption with up to 104W at peak power use.

The APC 1500 can use an external battery pack that will triple those runtimes.

Even without the extra battery pack, I would have enough run time to recognize the power outage and get on backup generators.

OH.. The BR1500G has AVR so it regulates your AC to the device to prevent spikes or brownouts from hurting equipment attached thereto.

Hope That Was Helpful
My First Post
Dennis

PS. Just ordered that BR1500G from WallMart (store pickup)
06-10-2015 11:06 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)