Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

WANTED - RESMED Airsense 10 2G GSM Modem
#21
(06-18-2015, 03:18 PM)Wozzlegummich Wrote: Interesting - Is it an Elite or an Auto?

It is the Auto

Post Reply Post Reply
#22
The wireless module (modem) is an embedded surface mount device on a PC board which is part of the side cover (SD Card side) of the S10. Six screws and disconnection of a four white wire connector and it's out. US & Australian RESMED Airsense S10 Auto's seem exactly the same and the side covers complete with their wireless modules appear to be fully interchangeable.

The Australian device is a TELIT GE910-QUAD V3 2.5G GSM/GPRS quad-band 850/900/1800/1900MHz.

[Image: GSM.jpg]

The United States version is a TELIT GE910-DUAL CDMA-EVDO 800/1900 MHz RTT 153.6 kbps

[Image: P_20150621_124702.jpg]

Now all I need is RESMED to sell me the Australian version of the side cover.
Post Reply Post Reply
#23
LATEST UPDATE:

I have it from a very good authority (I've actually seen it) that a 2G GSM modem from an Australian sourced RESMED S10 will fit and work in a US sourced RESMED S10 and it does connect to the Vodafone network and transmit data to the MyAir website.

Also, contrary to what RESMED have said, the MYAir website is accessible from Australia and does work with data transmitted from the 2G GSM modems in Australia.

Now all we need to do is....

1. Get RESMED to stop telling everyone that the only way to upgrade a US spec S10 to trasmit data in Australia or to fit a 2G GSM modem to an AUS spec S10 is to buy a complete new machine.

2. Get RESMED to sell us the 2G GSM Modem.

Surely with the exorbitant price the we Australians have to pay for these machines they could see there way clear to bring us into the 21st Century and allow us to have the same features they give the US. Especially since they are made here in AUSTRALIA!!!

Has anyone got an "In" with RESMED??
Post Reply Post Reply


#24
A lot of work to just get compliance data. I get full data using Sleepyhead and a Toshiba Flashair III card daily connecting remotely to my primary workstation via my phone in less than a minute while sitting on the edge of my bed each time I get up.

There are two software options, Sleep Master and FlashPAP, both work with the same WiFi SDcards, connect, pull the data so that SleepyHead can import full data without taking the card physically out of the machine. You can even set it up to write to an SDCard on the workstation so you can use ResScan if you choose.

No soldering, opening the machine and still getting way too basic data. Get full data, full reports daily (or in my case sometimes multiple times in a day).
Current Settings PS 4.0 over 10.6-18.0 (cmH2O) BiLevel Auto
TNET Sleep Resource Pages
CPAP Machine Database
Post Reply Post Reply
#25
(06-25-2015, 03:16 AM)krelvin Wrote: A lot of work to just get compliance data. I get full data using Sleepyhead and a Toshiba Flashair III card daily connecting remotely to my primary workstation via my phone in less than a minute while sitting on the edge of my bed each time I get up.

No soldering, opening the machine and still getting way too basic data. Get full data, full reports daily (or in my case sometimes multiple times in a day).

Where did the soldering come into it? The swap out of the modem takes less than a minute - six screws. The only electrical connection is a small ribbon wire harness which plugs directly onto the modem printed circuit board and connects the main PC board.

The MYAIR system emails & txts if there is anything awry. All with no input or effort from the user apart from initially setting up an account. Users don't have to do anything - safe in the knowledge that if something goes awry it will email & text them.

I agree a Flashair card with automated remote data retrieval for viewing with Sleepyhead would be handy if one was to start getting some errant messages from MYAIR. But having a look around this forum it looks like there's a fair bit of mucking around to get the card to work. Far more work than slipping a modem into the machine. Then there's the setup and configuration to automate the download of the files to a repository that is available remotely. All seems a bit too hard doesn't it?

I must say though I'm starting to agree with the "tinfoil hat brigade" about big brother having access to their machines via the modem. I've read about instances where the machine parameters have been changed remotely by the patients health care provider. Also the chip used in this modem also has voice and GPS capabilities so who knows what data "they" are collecting. (Cue X-Files theme music).
But then again, if you have got wifi in your house Google knows more about you than probably you do!! [Image: tinfoil.gif]

Of course this is only my opinion and maybe completely wrong! [Image: begging.gif]
Post Reply Post Reply
#26
This is what I see on the My Air site from last night.

[Image: myair.jpg]
Post Reply Post Reply


#27
(06-24-2015, 06:14 PM)Wozzlegummich Wrote: LATEST UPDATE:

I have it from a very good authority (I've actually seen it) that a 2G GSM modem from an Australian sourced RESMED S10 will fit and work in a US sourced RESMED S10 and it does connect to the Vodafone network and transmit data to the MyAir website.

Also, contrary to what RESMED have said, the MYAir website is accessible from Australia and does work with data transmitted from the 2G GSM modems in Australia.

Now all we need to do is....

1. Get RESMED to stop telling everyone that the only way to upgrade a US spec S10 to trasmit data in Australia or to fit a 2G GSM modem to an AUS spec S10 is to buy a complete new machine.

2. Get RESMED to sell us the 2G GSM Modem.

Surely with the exorbitant price the we Australians have to pay for these machines they could see there way clear to bring us into the 21st Century and allow us to have the same features they give the US. Especially since they are made here in AUSTRALIA!!!

Has anyone got an "In" with RESMED??

Good Luck with that.
Post Reply Post Reply
#28
(06-26-2015, 02:07 AM)Adoniscmj Wrote: Good Luck with that.

We can only hope. Dont-know
Post Reply Post Reply
#29
(06-25-2015, 08:49 PM)Wozzlegummich Wrote: This is what I see on the My Air site from last night.

Hi Wozzle,

I too am in Australia, waiting for my new CPAP machine to arrive from Supplier #2.

Did you get any further with sourcing the TELIT GE910-QUAD V3 ?
Post Reply Post Reply


#30
(06-17-2015, 05:10 AM)Wozzlegummich Wrote: What I need is the 2G GSM modem module for the S10.

Can anyone point me to where I could buy one (I will fit it myself).

From December 2016 they will turn off 2G in Australia. Wonder if Resmed thought about that.

Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Resmed Airsense 10 Using Full Water Tank Every Night Nsquared1 23 1,755 12-06-2017, 07:24 PM
Last Post: Sleep2Snore
  ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset - Loud! Jamizer 23 837 11-28-2017, 06:49 PM
Last Post: GordNWT
  switching to Resmed Airsense interpretation appreciated car54 10 331 11-20-2017, 09:11 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  resmed airsense 10 wifi kerm007 13 778 11-07-2017, 10:37 PM
Last Post: yankees123
  [CPAP] Resmed Airsense 10 makes breathing noise LSU101 8 654 11-06-2017, 09:47 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  1st Post: Wanted to say thanks for all the great info Sonoma Grown 10 342 11-05-2017, 02:56 PM
Last Post: jaswilliams
  ResMed AirSense 10 Questions About Pressure DreamingOfSleeping 2 331 10-30-2017, 08:49 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.