Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Waking up/Air pressure
Waking up/Air pressure
Hello, Happy New Year to all,
I've been using CPAP since April 2009. On my second CPAP machine, currently using a ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset with a ResMed Quattro Full face mask and heated hose. Haven't had a great nights sleep since the very first night of the sleep study back in April 2009, although my sleep is better than prior to getting tested. All my numbers from my machine history 'look' satisfactory to any Sleep Apnea doctor I've broached this to, so they are reluctant to want to change anything.

I do not wake up well rested, and sometimes with a headache. Lately I've been waking up about an hour or two before my alarm clock to constant pressure of 12 (I believe mask is leaking at that point) and even though I am awake at that point (sometimes for 15 minutes) and aware of my breathing it doesn't adjust accordingly. Is it not supposed to adjust the air pressure, either more or less depending on what it detects my breathing to be? So my solution is to turn the machine off and then the auto detection turns it back on once it senses my breathing and it starts off nice and low like around 4 then I suspect it ramps up. By this time I'm falling back to sleep, only to be woken by my alarm, and hence being tired.

Is there anything I should make sure of or could adjust in the settings in the machine? (I can access the clinician setup menu)

I have fiddled with my mask, keep my hair short (when my hair gets longer I seem to adjust the straps more).

If anybody has questions for me (or probable solutions), I can definitely answer them to hopefully better dial this thing in.

Thanks for all of your assistance,
Ed

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Waking up/Air pressure