Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Was I Cheated By The Equipment Supplier?
Was I Cheated By The Equipment Supplier?
I'm not an expert at medical billing so I want to make sure I'm understanding what happened the other day at the medical supply company (DME) that contracts with our health insurance company.

I went in to buy a new mask, but when I saw the invoice it looked like they were charging me for two masks (see below).  When I asked them, they told me they did it that way because that's what they needed to do for the billing codes. 

Nevertheless, charging $290 for a mask that only costs $85 retail seems a little fishy to me. My co-pay was $25, in case you're curious.

Would you experts please have a look at the invoice below and tell me how many masks I should have walked out with. 

Thanks!!!

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Was I Cheated By The Equipment Supplier?
It looks like they've charged for the mask and headgear separately. I don't think there's anything fishy about that, as they are available as separate items.

From what I've heard on the forums, the DME will charge an enormous markup, of which the insurance will only pay a portion. Why do they do it that way? "Creative accounting" would be my guess.
Post Reply Post Reply