Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Was there a solution for “Check Power?”
#1
Was there a solution for “Check Power?”
Hi!

I have read a number of postings of which people have been having the same problem as I and I wondered if anyone found a resolution.
        Philips Dream Station.                                  
        BIPAP AutoSV
“Check Power” screen with a power cord charger that has a Danger! Sign blinking.

I have had the machine for years and this just happened last night.

I, like others, bought a new power cord, without much success.

I can’t imagine another two nights sleeping without my BI-PAPP since not only do I have CSA and OSA, I have other issues that require me being able to breathe when I sleep.

HELP!! I don’t have a spare machine since I’ve. been waiting for Phillip’s replacement. (Haha)

Jeffo
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: Was there a solution for “Check Power?”
I don't know if this helps at all but I plugged in my new Philips Dream Station yesterday that was issued due to the recall and got the same message; 'check power'. It turned out that I didn't have the cord plugged into the machine far enough. Gave it an extra push and that fixed it.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: Was there a solution for “Check Power?”
Jeffo1,
I hope I'm wrong, but you may have a long wait for a replacement ASV from Phillips.

Curious... it seems you've used this machine for many years which indicates you may be eligible for replacement under your insurance coverage.

If you have insurance coverage, talk to your doctor and try to get a replacement through insurance.  If and when Phillips decides to send you a replacement, you would then have a backup.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Administrator
http://www.ApneaBoard.com

_______________________
OSCAR Chart Organization
OSCAR - The Guide
Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing therapy





INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE.  ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA.  INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
RE: Was there a solution for “Check Power?”
Hi!

Thanks for your concern!

I’m still waiting for a replacement for my Dreamscape.  When I last called Phillips, they said that they were going in chronological order from when people initially notified them requesting a replacement.  Although I was one of the first people to respond, they had me down for August - when I first checked my status! 

If anyone knows a shortcut to the replacement process, please let me know!!

Jeffo1
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#5
RE: Was there a solution for “Check Power?”
Was that August 2023? Just wondering.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
RE: Was there a solution for “Check Power?”
The Check Power that was cured by properly plugging in the power cord is caused by an identification function in the cord connector. There are 3 contacts. There is a specific resistance value between two of them that identifies the capacity of the power supply. If it is not detected, or the value is out of the expected range, the machine assumes you may have connected the wrong power brick.  This is also used in a lot of laptop computers, so you don’t use the wrong power brick. It’s possible the same brick is used with many laptop computers such as HP or Dell.
Post Reply Post Reply
#7
RE: Was there a solution for “Check Power?”
Thanks. I bought a new compatible power brick and I still get a fixed, warning screen saying “Check Power.” Is there a workaround?


Re the Phillips Dream Station replacement. I called to check my status in August 2021, but, initially,I called them in June of 2021.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#8
RE: Was there a solution for “Check Power?”
either the power supply connector or the adaptor on device was broken.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Resmed H5i S9 how to dismantle case - power supply error kermit43 8 306 05-20-2022, 10:51 PM
Last Post: kermit43
  Looking for Help - Excruciating Tooth Pain, a Dentist’s Check, and Diet Change RayBee 10 316 05-07-2022, 10:26 AM
Last Post: pholynyk
  Low power Airsense 10 settings; no humidifier? camper2 7 288 05-05-2022, 10:28 AM
Last Post: Dog Slobber
  Resmed S10 power problem g1ant 2 171 04-14-2022, 11:30 AM
Last Post: g1ant
  Has anyone tried the Ryobi 18v inverter to power their CPAP? chasmm 19 1,145 04-09-2022, 03:27 PM
Last Post: DaveL
  Cleaning Solution for ResMed AirTouch Foam Masks! MoreBeers 4 331 04-08-2022, 07:58 AM
Last Post: MoreBeers
  Solution for the AirMini Travel Noise JimIve 23 12,161 03-29-2022, 07:02 AM
Last Post: Crimson Nape


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.