Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Weird gaps in SH recording
#1
Question 
I have noticed more often than when I first got my machine that I will have these gaps in the recording that are unrelated to me stopping the machine to get up and go pee. When I do that and restart, the machine starts at baseline pressure of 10 cm, whereas the "gaps" resume at the pressure close to where they started. Also they are sometimes longer than 15 minutes, and I know that even a deep sleep I did not stop and start the machine for that long (I don't use Autostart).

See SH report for one (of many examples). They do not seem to be related to AHI, LL, or anything else.

   

Anyone else have this issue? Any suggestions?
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
I would get ResScan and look at it one ResScan.
Perhaps it's just a bug in Sleepyhead.
This Veteran is medicated for your protection.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Another thought would be to try rebuilding your data in SH.
______________________
Useful Links -or- When All Else Fails:
Posting SleepyHead Charts in 5 Easy Steps
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
Apnea Helpful Tips
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Under the information panel on the left of the daily screen (below the pie chart) SleepyHead gives you the breakdown of the sessions for the night. See if these correspond to the gaps in your charts.

Of course it is possible to turn your machine off in your sleep (I've done it myself often enough). Though your chart doesn't really look like that.
DeepBreathing
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Bed

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Has happened to me on several occasions. Not very often and has not done it for a long time so I have just ignored it. In your case, I would definitely check it out with ResScan and if it is happening there would take it to Resmed.

Best Regards,

PaytonA
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
It very well could be a problem with your machine. It also could be a rainout issue. These machines are known for gaps in recordings when rainout becomes a problem. I had this challenge. So, I would double check that you have rainout under control. If you do, its likely the machine. If you don't get the Climateline hose and turn the line setting to Auto.
Coffee

Happy Pappin'
Never Give In, Never Give Up


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. 
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
On many nights I'm getting micro occurrences. Perhaps not related, but FWIW: They are BND (Breathing Not Detected) events with the parenthetical value of -32768 (always this same negative number.** Once in a while there's also a BND with a logical duration of several seconds.) They appear only in the events tab on the left, but not as a flag in the BND graph channel.* If I zoom way in, I see a break in the respiration, inspiration, etc. curves, but not in the flow rate, pressure, or leak rate curves.

I'm guessing this to be a machine and/or SH aberration. It is different from the patterns I get for a bathroom break where the machine is off. Those patterns resemble yours (as expected). But you may want to check whether there's a BND event in the events list during the time window in question.

*Questions for SH experts: In that lower right dropdown below the graphs, why is the BND event not listed? (It does appear in the lower left dropdown, and, yes, it's enabled.)
**Does a negative duration have some special significance - an error code perhaps?
I'm using the 1.0.0 beta-1 build.

-Ron
We are such stuff
As dreams are made on, and our little life
Is rounded with a sleep.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
has to be a Sleepyhead bug. -32768 is 1000 0000 0000 0000 in binary. (215)
This Veteran is medicated for your protection.
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
I have a suggestion, since I have seen this happen. Turn off Smart Start if you have that on. The machine is thinking you have taken the mask off, because of a large leak and so, turns it off, until you start breathing again and the leak is gone. Then it starts up again. When I see that pattern I know that is my problem, might not be yours but thought I would throw it out there.
I am not a Medical professional and I don't play one on the internet.
Started CPAP Therapy April 5, 2016
I'd Rather Be Sleeping
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
I think that Snowbird47 said that he does not use Smart Start.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  CPAP MAchine recording Hypopnea events rodhuy 6 258 06-23-2017, 01:00 AM
Last Post: rodhuy
  18 Year CPAP Dieing. Is Data Recording Needed? Zac3g 13 395 06-13-2017, 07:56 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [CPAP] Oxygen sensing and recording shnorrer 23 7,021 05-12-2017, 03:01 AM
Last Post: vsheline
  Recording oximeter for overnight use BrassCat 4 341 05-08-2017, 10:19 PM
Last Post: xxyzx
  Weird Gurgle Sound In Tubing rooy1960 8 298 05-06-2017, 09:22 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Equipment] Resmed S9 not recording quality Jencrdh 11 576 02-15-2017, 08:21 PM
Last Post: Beej
  SD Card Not Recording Flow SideSleeper 2 236 01-31-2017, 05:47 PM
Last Post: SideSleeper

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.