Post Reply 
What does 'invalid' SD card mean??
Author Message
GrammaBear Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 381
Joined: May 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Air Fit P10
Humidifier: ResMed H5i heated humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 12.2 - 16.2
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Type 1 diabetes - using Tandem T-slim insulin pump, Dexcom G4 CGM

Sex: Female
Location: northern Illinois

Post: #1
What does 'invalid' SD card mean??
I had my yearly appointment with the sleep doctor yesterday. My report was very good and he was pleased that I actually wear the mask and use the machine every night. Apparently some patients do not. My problem is that when I returned home and re-inserted my SD card, the machine is telling me that I have an 'invalid' SD card and asks the questions..."do you want to erase the data?" Have no idea why it is behaving this way nor what to do for it.
09-16-2015 07:17 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,332
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #2
RE: What does 'invalid' SD card mean??
Three things come to mind:
1. If you are using a S9, the doctor's office might have used a Windows 8 or 10 computer to read it. The S9 is the only model(I think) that will complain about the system volume information file that Windows 8 & 10 writes to the card.

2. Did the doctor's office give you back the same card?

3. Since your data has been reviewed, erasing it doesn't matter.

Please fill out your profile so we can see the equipment and setting that you are using.

I hope this helps.

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
09-16-2015 07:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
GrammaBear Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 381
Joined: May 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Air Fit P10
Humidifier: ResMed H5i heated humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 12.2 - 16.2
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Type 1 diabetes - using Tandem T-slim insulin pump, Dexcom G4 CGM

Sex: Female
Location: northern Illinois

Post: #3
RE: What does 'invalid' SD card mean??
2. Yes, I received the same card back as I had written my initials on the card last year when the DME sent me a new card.

3. Have no clue how to "erase" the data as it is not clear how to do that.

Last year the sleep doctor's office was not able to read the card at all because they said it was "corrupt". This year they were able to download the data but now my ResMed S9 Autoset machine doesn't want it back - and is it considered "corrupt" once again?
09-16-2015 08:19 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
DeepBreathing Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 2,296
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 VPAP Adapt
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: EPAP: 9 - 15 PS: 3 - 10
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post: #4
RE: What does 'invalid' SD card mean??
It might be worth replacing your card. Any SD card will do - it doesn't need to be Resmed's own brand. Your machine will automatically format it and write the summary data to the card.

DeepBreathing
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Bed

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
09-16-2015 08:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
GrammaBear Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 381
Joined: May 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Air Fit P10
Humidifier: ResMed H5i heated humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 12.2 - 16.2
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Type 1 diabetes - using Tandem T-slim insulin pump, Dexcom G4 CGM

Sex: Female
Location: northern Illinois

Post: #5
RE: What does 'invalid' SD card mean??
(09-16-2015 08:31 AM)DeepBreathing Wrote:  It might be worth replacing your card. Any SD card will do - it doesn't need to be Resmed's own brand. Your machine will automatically format it and write the summary data to the card.

Sorry for my ignorance, but where does one buy these SD cards? I am not computer savvy and I don't understand why I can't seem to take the SD card out, do a download whether it is to Sleepyhead or the sleep doctor's office without the SD card giving me grief when I put it back in?
09-16-2015 09:16 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,332
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #6
RE: What does 'invalid' SD card mean??
(09-16-2015 09:16 AM)GrammaBear Wrote:  Sorry for my ignorance, but where does one buy these SD cards? I am not computer savvy and I don't understand why I can't seem to take the SD card out, do a download whether it is to Sleepyhead or the sleep doctor's office without the SD card giving me grief when I put it back in?

Try googling the term "SD card". Several suppliers will be listed. The S9 will only use the maximum of 2Gb, so any card 2Gb or larger will work fine.

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
09-16-2015 09:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
OpalRose Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,181
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto 560 with A Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 For Her
Humidifier: REMStar heated humidifier with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto Cpap 10-13 AFLEX 1
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Started CPAP Therapy October 23, 2014

Sex: Female
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Post: #7
RE: What does 'invalid' SD card mean??
Hi GrammaBear,
Check out any one of the online suppliers from the Suppliers List at top of page. Most sell them for a decent price. Or you can ask your friendly DME to send you a new one, but they would probably charge you more. Sad

When you put a new card into CPAP machine, the CPAP should write all of the data on the new card.

OpalRose
(This post was last modified: 09-16-2015 09:36 AM by OpalRose.)
09-16-2015 09:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #8
RE: What does 'invalid' SD card mean??
GrammaBear, It's quite likely that your SD card is ok. The problem you are experiencing is often caused by the doctors computer writing an improper directory to your card. The offending directory is named "System Volume Information" and is a hidden directory. You can delete that directory manually or run the file at the location I have linked below and allow it to do the job for you. Download that file and double-click on it while you have your SD card plugged in to your computer. It will do the deleting job for you instantaneously. It will not delete any of your other data on the card, only the offending directory will be deleted so that the xpap machine will accept it without a squawk.

http://webpages.charter.net/surferdude/RD_SVI.exe

Dude
(This post was last modified: 09-16-2015 08:00 PM by surferdude2.)
09-16-2015 10:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
stanleydean Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 85
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: Resmart CPAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Drive Medical Comfort Fit Deluxe
Humidifier: Resmart
CPAP Pressure: 10.5 cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: No downloadable software available for Resmart. Partial data available via icodeconnect.com

Sex: Male
Location: Central Florida

Post: #9
RE: What does 'invalid' SD card mean??
I recently had the same issue. A new SD card from Walmart worked well. Just take the old card and they will help you. To remove the card press it in and release. It will pop out far enough for you to pull it out. Use a thumbnail to press if need.Be sure to notice which side the gold strips are on and put the new card in the same way. Get a card that has the same capacity as the old card or greater. No need for more capacity, it just costs more. The card is installed like it is removed, press in until it pops in place òbserving the orientation of the gold strips. There are numerous stores other than Walmart that sell SD cards and the one you need should be $10 or less.
09-16-2015 01:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,452
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #10
RE: What does 'invalid' SD card mean??
Hi GrammaBear,
If you should need a new SD card,You can get them just about anywhere.
Good luck to you with getting the SD card problem straightened out.

trish6hundred
09-16-2015 02:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  invalid date/time. data exists for this period message on Resmed 9 autoset Marl1n 3 473 07-25-2016 09:03 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?" MAPnea 28 27,521 03-18-2016 07:32 PM
Last Post: palerider
  Downloading data to SD card of Resmed for nights that SD card not in ResMed machine Robert6 8 4,938 06-19-2015 09:28 AM
Last Post: estgad
  Forgot to put card back in machine, is there a way to copy it from machine to card? Marnid2014 6 3,799 04-06-2014 08:54 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2
  Invalid SD card please help StaceyG 11 2,492 01-19-2014 01:21 PM
Last Post: BABolger
  [Equipment] "Invalid SD card erase data? Yes No" cbpugh 9 8,495 03-19-2013 06:11 PM
Last Post: cbpugh

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)