Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Time for a break from CPAP and trying something different
Time for a break from CPAP and trying something different
Im pretty new to sleep apnea and CPAP therapy, 3 and a half months in. Tried 6-7 masks so far and so far havent had a single night where I slept for over a couple of hours with the mask. This will be a long post because I need to vent a bit.

Full face masks and nose masks dont work for me - if something covers my nose it makes me feel claustrophobic and anxious, cant get used to them. 

Masks which have nasal pillows fit me much better, especially since I am also not a mouth breather. I narrowed it down to the Dreamwear Nasal pillows ( the ones where nothing goes in your nose ) and Airfit n30i. Have both of them and both feel comfortable when compared to the other masks I tried. 

I bought a chin strip since sometimes I talk when I sleep, which now wakes me up. I bought a specific CPAP pillow which helps a lot.

But, I cant get used to it. I ended up falling in depression because I was extremely sleep deprived after I started CPAP therapy, had to take a month off from work because of it. Meds that I was given only made things work and I legit had the worst time in my life because of it all. Then I was moved to 10 days on sleeping pills to catch up on sleep and to maybe let my body get used to the CPAP mask. Those 10 days were good, I got 5-6 hours of sleep with the mask and I felt slightly better on the days after. 

After I stopped with the sleeping pills I again couldnt sleep.