Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Poll: What water do you use to fill the humidifier tank?
This poll is closed.
Distilled
74.29%
52 74.29%
Tap
14.29%
10 14.29%
Other
10.00%
7 10.00%
N/A
1.43%
1 1.43%
Total 70 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

What water do you use to fill the humidifier tank?
What water do you use to fill the humidifier tank?
Does it matter or is not an issue
Do you dump the water after each use - even if you don,t use it all in one night.

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: What water do you use to fill the humidifier tank?
I am new to the game, starting with xPAP on 3/7. I used an old bottle of distilled water for a couple of days to begin with, and now am using RO (reverse osmosis) water, which I can fill in my kitchen. With four filters and a membrane, the RO filter should remove anything! Big Grin Since I intend on getting the humidifier tub that opens for cleaning when I replace it in about 6 months (or so my DME said), I will check to see what damage, if any, was done without continuous use of distilled.
Breathing keeps you alive. And PAP helps keep you breathing!
Post Reply Post Reply
We use distilled. I used to use filtered tap water until I kept noticing how much more "gunk" there was in my tank than my wife's (she stuck with distilled).
Sunday is clean everything and change the water day.

Jumpstart, I strongly suspect that you will be just fine with R/O water, it is very near to distilled and much more refined than tap water, and many people use that with no ill effects.
Post Reply Post Reply
What kind of water to use is a constant source of debate here and at probably all the other sleep apnea forums. Eat-popcorn