Post Reply 
Where Does My Machine Obtain the Time Information
Author Message
312capri Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 38
Joined: Jun 2012

Machine: Respironics BiPAP Pro
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quattro FX
Humidifier: Respironics System One Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 18/14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Quattro FX

Sex: Male
Location: New Mexico

Post: #1
Where Does My Machine Obtain the Time Information
How do our CPAP machines obtain their time of day information? Our "Atomic Clocks" receive their information via the 60KHz transmitter located at the Nation Bureau of Standards in Boulder CO. The NBS uses a cesium beam clock and is the time and frequency standard for our entire country. Do our CPAP machines also synchronize to that time? When I review the information from my SleepyHead software the time stamps seem very accurate.

Just wondering... Oh-jeez
06-15-2012 04:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
big_dave Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 411
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: PR System One DS560
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: F&P Pilairo Q or ResMed Mirage Activa
Humidifier: PR System One
CPAP Pressure: 14 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Former ResMed S8 Autoset II user

Sex: Male
Location: Eugene, Oregon

Post: #2
RE: Where Does My Machine Obtain the Time Information
It has an internal clock. The clock on my first machine (acquired used) was off by 1 hr 20 minutes when I bought it. It can be adjusted in the clinician's menu, but this erases all the data (at least on a ResMed machine; I don't know about Respironics machines).
06-15-2012 04:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #3
RE: Where Does My Machine Obtain the Time Information
(06-15-2012 04:55 PM)big_dave Wrote:  It has an internal clock. The clock on my first machine (acquired used) was off by 1 hr 20 minutes when I bought it. It can be adjusted in the clinician's menu, but this erases all the data (at least on a ResMed machine; I don't know about Respironics machines).

Respironics machines do not have a way for the user to reset the time, and the clocks do drift over time.

Special cables and proprietary software are required to reset the time on Respironics. Or a way to change the internal battery.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
06-15-2012 05:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #4
RE: Where Does My Machine Obtain the Time Information
(06-15-2012 04:45 PM)312capri Wrote:  How do our CPAP machines obtain their time of day information? Our "Atomic Clocks" receive their information via the 60KHz transmitter located at the Nation Bureau of Standards in Boulder CO. The NBS uses a cesium beam clock and is the time and frequency standard for our entire country. Do our CPAP machines also synchronize to that time? When I review the information from my SleepyHead software the time stamps seem very accurate.

Just wondering... Oh-jeez
Respironics machines don,t have a clock like the S9 which we can change it manually to local time. It does have hidden internal clock set to GMT (Greenwich Mean Time) regardless of local time. You would have put in your time zone so SH can convert to local time
06-15-2012 05:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #5
RE: Where Does My Machine Obtain the Time Information
(06-15-2012 05:28 PM)zonk Wrote:  Respironics machines don,t have a clock like the S9 which we can change it manually to local time. It does have hidden internal clock set to GMT (Greenwich Mean Time) regardless of local time. You would have put in your time zone so SH can convert to local time.

Your Windows PC usually knows your local time zone and SH will automatically apply this. I presume the Linux or Mac versions do the same.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
06-15-2012 09:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 751
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 17-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #6
RE: Where Does My Machine Obtain the Time Information
(06-15-2012 09:59 PM)archangle Wrote:  
(06-15-2012 05:28 PM)zonk Wrote:  Respironics machines don,t have a clock like the S9 which we can change it manually to local time. It does have hidden internal clock set to GMT (Greenwich Mean Time) regardless of local time. You would have put in your time zone so SH can convert to local time.

Your Windows PC usually knows your local time zone and SH will automatically apply this. I presume the Linux or Mac versions do the same.

My Philips Respironics System One is 19 minutes fast. That is, if I get up at 6:30 it says I got up at 6:49. It's not a big deal, but I wish I could adjust the time in the machine.

I use SleepyHead on Linux and it reports the time correctly, except for the 19 minute error. The error is in the machine, so there is nothing SleepyHead can do about it.
06-15-2012 10:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #7
RE: Where Does My Machine Obtain the Time Information
(06-15-2012 10:47 PM)JJJ Wrote:  I use SleepyHead on Linux and it reports the time correctly, except for the 19 minute error. The error is in the machine, so there is nothing SleepyHead can do about it.

When jedimark makes it back, adding a time correction offset is on his todo list.

Curse you Respironics for not allowing the user to fix the clock or replace the battery.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
06-15-2012 11:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
cqfd93 Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: Philips Respironics System One RemStar Auto with A-Flex (555P)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Swift LT
Humidifier: Philips Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 6-18
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: France

Post: #8
RE: Where Does My Machine Obtain the Time Information
(06-15-2012 10:47 PM)JJJ Wrote:  I use SleepyHead on Linux and it reports the time correctly, except for the 19 minute error. The error is in the machine, so there is nothing SleepyHead can do about it.

Yes, SleepyHead on Ubuntu has a time correction, in Preferences / CPAP / CPAP Clock Drift.
06-16-2012 12:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 751
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 17-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #9
RE: Where Does My Machine Obtain the Time Information
(06-16-2012 12:53 PM)cqfd93 Wrote:  
(06-15-2012 10:47 PM)JJJ Wrote:  I use SleepyHead on Linux and it reports the time correctly, except for the 19 minute error. The error is in the machine, so there is nothing SleepyHead can do about it.

Yes, SleepyHead on Ubuntu has a time correction, in Preferences / CPAP / CPAP Clock Drift.

Omigod, you're right! I'm using Sleepyhead on Fedora x86_64, but I missed that setting. Thanks for pointing it out!
06-16-2012 03:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Long time CPAP user now with a problem PrkChps 1 13 Today 05:08 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  Is it time to replace cushion on the mask worthog 3 218 11-26-2016 10:50 PM
Last Post: GP49
  ASV/ Central apena - Time for a second opinion? Feisty Folder 6 336 11-21-2016 04:14 AM
Last Post: DeepBreathing
  When is it time to get another sleep study done. duece12345 7 357 11-19-2016 11:51 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  First time Bipap User, years of suffering SleepyMersim 18 653 11-16-2016 11:46 PM
Last Post: Galactus
  DreamStation - Can I use SD card and modem at same time? mcsheltie 2 260 10-28-2016 04:48 AM
Last Post: Ockrocket
  screen time out metropical 7 348 10-25-2016 10:38 PM
Last Post: Sleepyb

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)