Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Where to set pressure after a month of use?
Where to set pressure after a month of use?
I'm new to wearing a cpap. I have an AirsSense 10 for her. I read somewhere that after about a month of use, it's wise to change your pressure settings based on your average pressure usage. But I can't seem to find the exact specifics of the recommendation. Anyone have any advice? Thanks.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Where to set pressure after a month of use?
Welcome

If you Dr wants you to switch to fixed level, then the 95th percentile pressure is used.
Not the average, mean or median, that would be too low.
95th percentile is the pressure you are at or above about 5% of the time.

However, why put a good autoset on fixed? With a range of 10-15, it would (usually) accommodate for the differences that occur each night.
Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply
Sure! Best bet is to take a look on Sleepyhead or other software to see what your average and 95% pressure has been over this period. You want to minimize the range that the machine needs to change during the night. So set the minimum pressure at either the average pressure, or average pressure minus 2-cm if you are more comfortable starting at a lower pressure. And set the maximum pressure at the 95% pressure plus 2.0. This will give your machine a head start, while keeping you in your therapeutic range. This can be tighted again in the future at your discretion.

This is just a rule of thumb, and it would be easier if you replied with what your pressure history has been this month.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer