Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Which Machine? (Aircurve 10 Vauto vs S9 Elite)
Which Machine? (Aircurve 10 Vauto vs S9 Elite)
I bought a brand new Aircurve 10 Vauto today for $80. I have been using an S9 Elite for the last 4 years. I like the S9 and has been a geeat machine. However, I am going to gift one to Son in Law. I am pretty sure he needs one. He has all the symptoms. I am trying to decide to if I should keep my S9 Elite or start using the Aircurve 10.

Any help or suggestions would be helpful and appreciated!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Which Machine? (Aircurve 10 Vauto vs S9 Elite)
Hi Bruno, they are somewhat different machines, though both designed to treat obstructive apnea. The Elite is (as you know) a set-pressure machine for obstructive apnea. You set a single pressure and the machine maintains it all night long. The Aircurve VAuto allows you to adjust minimum EPAP (exhale pressure) and Maximum IPAP (inhale pressure) and will adjust the pressure within those limits as required during the night. The VAuto is more versatile as it allows several treatment modes, and probably has more leeway to optimise it for comfort.

However, I wonder how you got a brand new VAuto for $80? Did it fall off a truck?

As to which to keep and which to give away, I'd be inclined to use the newer machine (which can be set up to operate the same as your Elite), and lend the S9 to your son. If he finds there is any improvement in his symptoms, then you/he could start the process of getting properly evaluated and supplied with a new machine.
Post Reply Post Reply