Post Reply 
Which glucose meters do you guys use?
Author Message
Marthajoy7 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 67
Joined: Jun 2015

Machine: aircurve 10 auto set to bipap S mode
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: resmed mirage full face or Clear view full mask
Humidifier: Resmed built in humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 18.4/12 clearview or 18/13 mir
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Seattle

Post: #21
RE: Which glucose meters do you guys use?
I get my Verio test strips from Safeway in the pharmacy.
09-06-2016 12:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #22
RE: Which glucose meters do you guys use?
Bayer has a coupon you can use to get a discount off strips if you are paying cash. I don't go through insurance. My pharmacy gives me a cheaper price though because I pay cash. It is a small town pharmacy vs big box and I've been going there for many many years.

The "add more blood" doesn't mean you can use a strip twice for two different readings. It just means if you didn't add enough blood the first time, you can just add more from a second drop using the pokey thing vs trashing the strip and starting over.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
09-06-2016 02:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,848
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #23
RE: Which glucose meters do you guys use?
(09-06-2016 02:16 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  The "add more blood" doesn't mean you can use a strip twice for two different readings. It just means if you didn't add enough blood the first time, you can just add more from a second drop using the pokey thing vs trashing the strip and starting over.

Yeah, I seen that happen with my one touch blue strips; and I'll try to get it to pull in a little more blood; but it always means a bad test and wasted strip. reminds me -- time to use the pokey thing Big Grin

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
09-06-2016 03:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
GrammaBear Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 381
Joined: May 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Air Fit P10
Humidifier: ResMed H5i heated humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 12.2 - 16.2
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Type 1 diabetes - using Tandem T-slim insulin pump, Dexcom G4 CGM

Sex: Female
Location: northern Illinois

Post: #24
RE: Which glucose meters do you guys use?
With the Bayer Contour Next meter I use, I have picked out of the vial a clean, new test strip. I then insert it into the meter only to have the frickin' thing tell me "remove used test strip and use a new one". Duh??? This has happened on more than one occasion. I have called Bayer Customer support only to be told I must have made a mistake and picked up a used test strip. I don't call CS anymore for meter problems.
09-06-2016 09:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
pupcamper Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 399
Joined: Nov 2015

Machine: PR DreamStation CPAP Pro
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 Pillows; Quatro Air FFM
Humidifier: DreamStation Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10.5 cmH2O; no ramp; no C-Flex
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncorePro

Other Comments: Lung cancer survivor since 11/2004; CPAP since 11/2015

Sex: Male
Location: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA.

Post: #25
RE: Which glucose meters do you guys use?
I purchased the Contour Next USB.

"....respiration,—a troublesome practice, but one which custom has rendered necessary to our easy existence...." Oliver Twist, Charles Dickens- 1837

I use FlashPAP to load data from a FlashAir III wifi sd card in my machine to my computer and display it with SleepyHead .
robysue's Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
09-24-2016 06:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Ohmy Old Guys & New Tricks PollCat 22 6,927 10-04-2012 10:27 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)