Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Why Auto over CPAP?
Why Auto over CPAP?
I've been trying my new PRS1 machine in AutoIQ mode for the past couple of nights and I must say I'm more comfortable with a constant flow. I've been using a constant flow for 8 yrs and never had an option, but I find it harder to breathe, and I'm just not as relaxed. I turned on AutoIQ to find out if my pressure should be lowered .. I'm at 14(based on sleep study from '04) but sleepyhead is saying that's about right. AHI is all over the place with Auto (as high as 5) .. but is consistenlty below 1 with CPAP. I think I'm going to go back to CPAP at 13 or 12 for a night or two and see how that feels. Am I on the right track? Maybe Auto isn't always better?? Thoughts?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Why Auto over CPAP?
I had a somewhat same problem, when first starting on the AUTO after using a CPAP for many years. It was doing its job reference to raising pressure to catch apneas, but I was uncomfortable with the pressure changes, even as I had set the gap fairly close. They kept waking me up. So I operate in the CPAP mode most of the time. Occassionally I will slip it back to AUTO for a night or so and run the results on Sleeyhead. It usually turns out fairly equal( CPAP vs AUTO)
Yesterday is history; Tomorrow is a mystery; Today is a gift; Thats why its called "The Present".  
Post Reply Post Reply
Sorry just learning the site.
Post Reply Post Reply
JudgeMental,