Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

need help understanding OSCAR data
need help understanding OSCAR data
Greetings,

I am a newbie CPAP user in need of your expertise (just under 2 weeks.)  I have made some progress learning about the equipment and managing leaks.  At first I thought my problem was entirely a leak issue, as I have a very thin face.  Because I was getting much worse leaks at higher pressure settings, I tried experimenting / reducing the max pressure setting.  Last night I actually got to max pressure with no leaks, but ironically, this seems to have simply made the number of events worse (all-time high of 43/hour.)  I am contacting my doctor, but the office I would greatly appreciate some direction and advice from you all.  I have other health problems, and it is sometimes  difficult to know the source of any given problem, but I can see that thus far the CPAP is not helping me (plus I don’t sleep very well when using it.)  Could you please help me understand these charts?  k888

I am attaching last night's data - hope I have followed protocol.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: need help understanding OSCAR data
I see my attachment failed.  Another try:
[attachment=55222]
Post Reply Post Reply
I am not an expert, just a long time user. 

When you are having very large leaks not only does the CPAP machine not treat your apneas it will not recognize that you are having them.  You fixed your leak problem now you are seeing the apneas. Your chart appears to be showing positional apneas (clusters) caused by sleeping on your back or chin tucking.  Also, your min pressure is most likely too low.  I would start out with a min of 7cm, leave your EPR and your max pressure where it is for now. Do just one thing at a time.