Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Why does my pressure start increasing when I'm awake?
#1
I have my pressure set between 7 and 9, but I've noticed that when I'm lying down awake, my pressure is at 7.8. If I'm awake, why isn't my pressure at 7.0 which is the bottom of the pressure range? I have a Resmed Airsense 10.
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
Your Apap doesn't really know if your asleep or awake. It sort of guesses by your breathing pattern.

So, if it raised the pressure while your awake, it's recognizing a change in your breathing. Pressure may also raise due to flow limitation or snores and Rera's.

If you would download SleepyHead software, you would then be able to look at the time frame you are questioning and determine if you experienced flow limitation, snores, or Rera's.

If your not sure how to interpret the graphs, then upload one here, and someone can take a look.

OpalRose
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your SleepyHead Charts
Using Attachments to Post ScreenShots and Images.
Machine choices

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
I set my ramp to auto and my ramp start pressure to .2cm below my min start pressure. This defeats the ramp function but it won't start raising your pressure until the machine "thinks" your asleep (up to a point). The .2 cm below allows you tell (in sleepyhead) when ramp ends and therapy starts. If you care.
CPAP is a journey like “The Wizard of Oz”. It’s a long slow journey. You will face many problems and pick up many friends along the way. Just because you reach the poppies, it doesn’t mean you are in Kansas. 
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
Thanks, I have sleepyhead and the same machine as you, but Sleepyhead doesn't give me accurate data with my machine. It almost seems like it's not compatible. Are you using a Mac or a PC with Sleepyhead? I suspect that my Mac just isn't compatible.
Thanks, my machine doesn't seem to be compatible with Sleepyhead, as the Sleepyhead data doesn't match my machines stats. My machine also doesn't measure RERAS, but I wish it did. Is there a software other than Sleepyhead I could use?
Thanks, I have sleepyhead and the same machine as you, but Sleepyhead doesn't give me accurate data with my machine. It almost seems like it's not compatible. Are you using a Mac or a PC with Sleepyhead? I suspect that my Mac just isn't compatible.
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
ResScan only works with Windows.

Post the problems you are having with SleepyHead in the Software Support Forum.
Someone will be able to help if you can be more specific.


OpalRose
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your SleepyHead Charts
Using Attachments to Post ScreenShots and Images.
Machine choices

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#6
When we are awake most of us have somewhat irregular breathing, This period typically shows what we call SWJ or Sleep Wake Junk. The machine interprets this as events it needs to correct/prevent and raises pressure. When evaluating charts we try to ignore these periods.
New to Apnea? Helpful tips to ensure success
Mask Primer
Dealing with a DME
Download SleepyHead
Organize Charts
Attaching Charts

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#7
Thanks so much
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
(01-14-2017, 02:44 PM)Ihaveapnea Wrote: I have my pressure set between 7 and 9, but I've noticed that when I'm lying down awake, my pressure is at 7.8. If I'm awake, why isn't my pressure at 7.0 which is the bottom of the pressure range? I have a Resmed Airsense 10.
Which model, your profile doesn't say ...
[Image: ResMed-AirSense-10.png]
[should say "AutoSet, AutoSet for Her, Elite or CPAP"]
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
(01-14-2017, 09:50 PM)OpalRose Wrote: ResScan only works with Windows.

Post the problems you are having with SleepyHead in the Software Support Forum.
Someone will be able to help if you can be more specific.

Thanks for the tip. I'll definitely do that. There are such helpful people on here. I wish the real world was like this.
(01-15-2017, 12:48 AM)zonk Wrote:
(01-14-2017, 02:44 PM)Ihaveapnea Wrote: I have my pressure set between 7 and 9, but I've noticed that when I'm lying down awake, my pressure is at 7.8. If I'm awake, why isn't my pressure at 7.0 which is the bottom of the pressure range? I have a Resmed Airsense 10.
Which model, your profile doesn't say ...
[Image: ResMed-AirSense-10.png]
[should say "AutoSet, AutoSet for Her, Elite or CPAP"]

Hi, it's an Autoset.
(01-14-2017, 09:50 PM)OpalRose Wrote: ResScan only works with Windows.

Post the problems you are having with SleepyHead in the Software Support Forum.
Someone will be able to help if you can be more specific.

Thanks for the tip. I'll definitely do that. There are such helpful people on here. I wish the real world was like this.
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#10
The ResMed AutoSense 10 AutoSet in conjunction with Sleepyhead software will report RERAs (if you are having them) on the Mac.

I have the same setup.

Bill
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Self-treating UARS with AirCurve 10 — Where to start with pressure settings? FoggedOut 2 130 07-06-2018, 10:28 AM
Last Post: FoggedOut
  New user with Resmed S9 - how to start? NightOwl42 11 414 07-01-2018, 02:34 AM
Last Post: holden4th
  Fresh Start zzzZorro 19 874 06-02-2018, 11:36 AM
Last Post: OpalRose
  Increased start pressure S.Ann 9 387 05-09-2018, 08:19 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Why is increasing EPR eliminating h and fl yankees123 15 603 04-21-2018, 11:57 AM
Last Post: Rcgop
  AHI Increasing, Obstr and Clear Airway Index up Ldsc 8 339 04-17-2018, 07:13 PM
Last Post: Ldsc
Question AHI is increasing each night MrSleepInHisEyes 30 1,659 04-11-2018, 05:03 PM
Last Post: OpalRose

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.