Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Why don't mask manufacturers publish Pressure Ratings for their masks?
Why don't mask manufacturers publish Pressure Ratings for their masks?
As an engineer I have a technical understanding of pressure support by devices that are designed to handle pressure. CPAP masks are no different.
Each mask is designed to deliver the air flow at specific maximum pressures set by your CPAP device while the mask itself has to form a seal with your face in order to contain this air volume at a specific max pressure , however masks are like all other devices when the "seal" is designed to contain up to a maximum pressure before it "blows". For example your car tires or  your BBQ Propane Tank or any other pressure vessel.
All these vessels are required by law to exhibit their maximum pressure support rating...but not CPAP masks.
When you are shopping for a mask, you have absolutely no clue whether or not it will handle your "Prescribed Pressure" so you bring it home to try.
The first night it will keep leaking, so you tighten up the head gear to compress the seal but it leaks again so you keep tightening the darn thing until your face looks like a pancake and just when you manage to contain the pressure, you find that it is absolutely impossible to fall asleep with your new contraption, so you give up.
The truth is that your mask was never "rated" for your prescribed pressure in the first place, but since mask manufacturers are not obliged to publish their pressure ratings, you had no way of knowing.
Good news is that this data can be obtained with some fishing over the internet.  So next time you are shopping for a mask, it may be a good idea to research it's pressure rating before you part with your money....and sanity.