Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Why is my AHI so erratic ?
Why is my AHI so erratic ?
I have been using the ResMed CPap  machine regularly for the past 3 months , trying different pressure ranges . It appears that at 8-10 cm H2O pressure, I can keep
the mask on for about 5-6 hours per night ( compared to only 2 hours at higher pressure range, due to great discomfort ) . While using this pressure range, I noticed that the AHI readings
fluctuated erratically each day and I could not see any regular pattern . One day , it was 0.7  the next day it could jump to 16.6 and kept at this range for a few days then down to lessthan 10.0 level !! I did not change anything : same full mask, taped mouth, same pressure range, same sleeping position : on my back) . How can you explain the causes of this erratic variation ?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Why is my AHI so erratic ?
Your days are different. Stress levels, food intake, drink intake, medications, work, play. All that contributes.

Do not make changes too often. Wait at least 10 days between each one. Longer if you can.

Start a sleep journal. Write down events of the day, how you feel prior to sleep, etc. Then in the morning, write down how you feel, any dreams, etc.
PaulaO

Take a deep breath and count to zen.

Post Reply Post Reply
what mask are you using? I can sleep for over 8 hrs with my full face mask on, no discomfort and i'm running 8-14.5
Post Reply Post Reply
(08-10-2018, 09:54 PM)tommyngo Wrote: I did not change anything : same full mask, taped mouth, same pressure range, same sleeping position : on my back) . How can you explain the causes of this erratic variation