Post Reply 
Why is my machine resetting itself?
Author Message
wxmcpo Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 77
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Heated (attached to machine)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Looking forward to a good night's sleep

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #1
Why is my machine resetting itself?
So for the last week my machine has been doing something it had never done in the past. When I wake up in the morning and I hit the stop button on my machine it will show me the usage time and then reset itself and show anywhere from 1 to 7 seconds of usage even though it never turned itself back on for those additional seconds. When I put my SD card in and download to Sleepyhead it shows me the correct usage time. Why is my machine though doing this? I can't look at my AHI on my machine like I used to because it only shows those additional seconds and shows an AHI of 0 on the machine. Thanks
09-11-2015 01:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,839
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #2
RE: Why is my machine resetting itself?
My first thought is clock rollover. The machine's day starts noon. I would first check the date and time the machine is set to.
Internal clocks being off are sometimes found when a machine was in the Continental US, then sent to a different time zone like Hawaii.

My second thought is effectively a reboot. Pull the power and give it a few minutes for all capacitors to discharge; then power up.

Kindest Regards,

Mongo

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
09-11-2015 03:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #3
RE: Why is my machine resetting itself?
unplug the machine, wait few minutes and plug back
sometimes, rebooting fix the problem
if not, talk to your DME, the machine has a two years warranty, might be malfunctioning

check the clock showing the correct time date
09-11-2015 03:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
wxmcpo Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 77
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Heated (attached to machine)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Looking forward to a good night's sleep

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #4
RE: Why is my machine resetting itself?
The clock definitely isn't showing the correct time, but I try resetting it and it tells me it can't set the time for the past. How do you get it on the correct time if the machine is ahead of current time, but it won't let you set it for an earlier time?
09-13-2015 06:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,839
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #5
RE: Why is my machine resetting itself?
It issues that warning because there is data for the time you are trying to set to.
You wait until the internal clock is past noon and there is no data. You set it back as much as you can.
You may have to do this incrementally over a few days until you get the internal clock back far enough to match your local time.

There is a nuclear option: delete existing data in the machine. But you lose your compliance data; and I think it defaults other settings. So, it's last resort.

BTW -- approximately how far ahead is it?

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
(This post was last modified: 09-13-2015 10:35 AM by justMongo.)
09-13-2015 10:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #6
RE: Why is my machine resetting itself?
(09-13-2015 06:36 AM)wxmcpo Wrote:  The clock definitely isn't showing the correct time, but I try resetting it and it tells me it can't set the time for the past. How do you get it on the correct time if the machine is ahead of current time, but it won't let you set it for an earlier time?

What time is the clock showing, and what's the real time?

I think the A10 machines set their clock by the wireless modem

On the S9, you can set it back, but you can't go before any time when there is data. For instance:

Get up at 8 AM, turn the machine off, wait till 8:01 PM. You should be able to set the machine back up to 12 hours.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
09-13-2015 11:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
pholynyk Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 306
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 APAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: included
CPAP Pressure: 11-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #7
RE: Why is my machine resetting itself?
(09-13-2015 11:44 AM)archangle Wrote:  I think the A10 machines set their clock by the wireless modem

No, they drift like a wind-up Timex Annoyed-and-disappointed
They should use the built -in modem signal; It's guaranteed accurate - just like your cell phone. And they could build in the time-zone and DST changes as well.

They aren't as customer centered as they claim to be.

oldman
09-13-2015 06:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 878
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #8
RE: Why is my machine resetting itself?
(09-13-2015 11:44 AM)archangle Wrote:  I think the A10 machines set their clock by the wireless modem

No they don't (or at least mine doesn't) because it drifts by a few minutes every month. With a built in cell modem there is *no* *reason* for this except incompetent design.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
09-13-2015 06:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 878
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #9
RE: Why is my machine resetting itself?
(09-13-2015 06:31 PM)pholynyk Wrote:  They should use the built -in modem signal; It's guaranteed accurate - just like your cell phone. And they could build in the time-zone and DST changes as well.

To be fair cell phones, at least the Adroid ones I am familiar with, can be up to 30 seconds off because they only keep track to the minute and there is no internal seconds clock.

For what we pay for these things (well, for what my insurance paid) they could be controlled by a built in Android notepad with a nice big touch screen and an app to display your results and communicate with your computers via wifi or bluetooth in addition to the cell phone.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
09-13-2015 06:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
pholynyk Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 306
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 APAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: included
CPAP Pressure: 11-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #10
RE: Why is my machine resetting itself?
Interesting point about the Android system (display) clock. Another stupid design choice. The clocks in the modems have to be accurate (and synchronized) so that they can pass off from one cell zone to the next without drop-outs. That clock should be made available to the OS.
09-13-2015 07:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Exclaimation CPAP Machine Choices - read this before you accept a new machine SuperSleeper 2 5,996 10-12-2016 11:37 AM
Last Post: DariaVader
  Help (Resetting Pressures) Linda57 9 502 08-19-2016 06:57 PM
Last Post: icyura10
  Aircurve 10 resetting hourly usage. Please help. JVinNE 0 635 05-30-2015 11:48 AM
Last Post: JVinNE
  [Equipment] Resetting a Goodnight 420e buslover 3 1,467 09-01-2014 12:33 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Forgot to put card back in machine, is there a way to copy it from machine to card? Marnid2014 6 3,777 04-06-2014 08:54 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2
  resetting ResMed pressure range above 95% pressure ekim 31 6,351 11-13-2013 08:24 AM
Last Post: ekim

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)