Post Reply 
Why is the hose type in the clinician settings?
Author Message
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,839
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #1
Why is the hose type in the clinician settings?
Shouldn't the hose type be in the patient selectable settings?

Doesn't make sense to me.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
04-08-2014 11:24 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Bama Rambler Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 213
Joined: Feb 2014

Machine: Respironics System One DS460TS
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: DS6T
CPAP Pressure: 15 cmH2O
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: xPAP, Best thing since sliced bread!

Sex: Male
Location: Southwest Alabama

Post: #2
RE: Why is the hose type in the clinician settings?
Because it makes a pretty significant difference in the therapy if you get it wrong and most people don't know the difference between 15 and 22 mm and if it's heated or not. Also once you have a hose you don't normally change the type very often if at all. So it's better to put it in the clinician's menu than to have someone inadvertently change it to the wrong selection.
04-08-2014 11:55 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,839
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #3
RE: Why is the hose type in the clinician settings?
I wonder how many people swap out a 2 meter standard hose for a 3 meter because they desire a longer hose?
Likely doesn't matter on a brick. But, I would guess it might mess up the FOT algorithm where the pressure is modulated at 4 Hz and the reflection "listened" to (by perhaps either the flow meter or snore sensor) to score a central or OSA.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
04-08-2014 12:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
RonWessels Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 465
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: REMstar Auto AFlex DS560TS
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ComfortGel Blue
Humidifier: REMstar Heated Tube DS6T
CPAP Pressure: 11 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50F Pulse Oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #4
RE: Why is the hose type in the clinician settings?
The one that confuses me is that, at least on the PRS1 machines, while the value of C-Flex / A-Flex (the PRS1 equivalent of EPR) can be set to 1, 2, or 3 by the patient (unless locked out), turning it off (setting it to 0) is in the Clinician's menu.
04-08-2014 12:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
robysue Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 1,220
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: PR Dreamstation BiPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation humidfier
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 4; max IPAP = 9;
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic EncorePro

Other Comments: Papping since September 2010

Sex: Female
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post: #5
RE: Why is the hose type in the clinician settings?
(04-08-2014 11:24 AM)justMongo Wrote:  Shouldn't the hose type be in the patient selectable settings?

Doesn't make sense to me.
I believe that on the S9, the clinician can give patient access to the hose setting, but it's been a long time since I used an S9.

On the older PR System Ones, the hose setting can only be changed from the clinical menu. On the newer ones, like my hubby's brand new System One Series 60 APAP, the hose setting CAN be controlled from the patient menu, at least if the clinician set it up that way. I was pleasantly surprised that when I was swapping out a hose to clean his default 22mm hose with one of my clean and dry 15mm ones, that I did NOT have to go into the clinical menu.
04-08-2014 01:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
robysue Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 1,220
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: PR Dreamstation BiPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation humidfier
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 4; max IPAP = 9;
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic EncorePro

Other Comments: Papping since September 2010

Sex: Female
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post: #6
RE: Why is the hose type in the clinician settings?
(04-08-2014 12:55 PM)RonWessels Wrote:  The one that confuses me is that, at least on the PRS1 machines, while the value of C-Flex / A-Flex (the PRS1 equivalent of EPR) can be set to 1, 2, or 3 by the patient (unless locked out), turning it off (setting it to 0) is in the Clinician's menu.
Yep. This has always bothered me too.

One thing that they did fix on the (newer) Series 60 machines are the ramp settings:

On my Series 50 System One machine the clinician can give the patient access to the starting ramp pressure, but the ramp time can only be set inside the clinical menu, which never made sense to me. On hubby's brand new Series 60 System One, the clinician can set it up so that the patient can change both the starting ramp and the ramp time.
04-08-2014 01:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #7
RE: Why is the hose type in the clinician settings?
(04-08-2014 11:24 AM)justMongo Wrote:  Shouldn't the hose type be in the patient selectable settings?

Doesn't make sense to me.
Short answer: yes (SlimLine/Standard) but only if ClimateLine is not connected (as the S9 can tell when the heated hose is connected)

There is a long answer but now going for blood test and had no cup of tea this morning and getting hungry ... talk later Coffee
04-08-2014 05:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Dream Station Ramp and Pressure Settings knowoneuno 15 245 Yesterday 06:50 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Accuracy of Resmed AS10 vs Sleep Study Type IMSleeplessInSeattle 5 415 11-28-2016 12:11 AM
Last Post: sleepytimegal
  Dream Station Settings Autumnseer 15 463 11-26-2016 07:01 AM
Last Post: Weird Tolkienish Figure
Question CA's, Mask type, and leaks/vent Rcgop 10 360 11-15-2016 03:02 PM
Last Post: robysue
  Who generally is in charge of your CPAP settings? Mezzrow 9 445 11-12-2016 01:47 AM
Last Post: blueelement2016
  Can't get to the clinician menu Star 4 348 11-06-2016 12:28 PM
Last Post: robysue
  Climateline hose duffer54 4 324 11-05-2016 03:24 PM
Last Post: 0rangebear

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)