Post Reply 
Will a 20 volt DC converter work with the S9?
Author Message
toller Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed VPAP
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Will a 20 volt DC converter work with the S9?
I have a 90 watt 12vt DC to 20volt dc converter; stabilized and all that. Will the S9 operate on 20 volts rather than 24? Has anyone done so? I'm desperate to be able to go camping and my tether to 120 volts is raining on my parade, and the cost of a new dc converter is prohibitive for me.
02-26-2016 10:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
pholynyk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 306
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 APAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: included
CPAP Pressure: 11-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #2
RE: Will a 20 volt DC converter work with the S9?
Unfortunately, the S9 requires 24V supplied through an odd three conductor coaxial plug. It has a center pin, an inner sleeve, and an outer sleeve. Power is on the two sleeves, and I suspect the inner pin identifies the power rating of the power adapter. My old Lenovo T61 laptop has a similar plug. And an old Dell laptop I found, too.
02-26-2016 10:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
toller Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed VPAP
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #3
RE: Will a 20 volt DC converter work with the S9?
(02-26-2016 10:27 PM)pholynyk Wrote:  Unfortunately, the S9 requires 24V supplied through an odd three conductor coaxial plug. It has a center pin, an inner sleeve, and an outer sleeve. Power is on the two sleeves, and I suspect the inner pin identifies the power rating of the power adapter. My old Lenovo T61 laptop has a similar plug. And an old Dell laptop I found, too.

In fact the converter I have is a Lind de2045-1320 DC power adapter for Dell and Inspiron laptops.

Is the unfortunate part that it is 20v and not 24 or the odd plug? I thought perhaps some of you may have tried the 20v power adapter.
02-26-2016 10:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
pholynyk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 306
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 APAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: included
CPAP Pressure: 11-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #4
RE: Will a 20 volt DC converter work with the S9?
I guess the unfortunate part is that we don't know the exact function of the center pin, and we don't care to risk our nighttime companions.
02-26-2016 11:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
toller Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed VPAP
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #5
RE: Will a 20 volt DC converter work with the S9?
(02-26-2016 11:17 PM)pholynyk Wrote:  I guess the unfortunate part is that we don't know the exact function of the center pin, and we don't care to risk our nighttime companions.

I understand perfectly. I feel very much the same way.
02-26-2016 11:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #6
RE: Will a 20 volt DC converter work with the S9?
Actually, I do not think it's coaxial; but 3 pins and a shell.
The actual plug being a KPPX-3P
[Image: KPPX-3P.jpg]

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
02-26-2016 11:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
pholynyk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 306
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 APAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: included
CPAP Pressure: 11-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #7
RE: Will a 20 volt DC converter work with the S9?
Oops. Thanks for the correction, jM. I wonder why they changed to the coaxial plug for the A10.

Does anybody know the function of that third pin, the skinny one?
02-27-2016 06:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OMyMyOHellYes Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 915
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Respironics 560 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Respironics System One (no heated hose)
CPAP Pressure: 08.0-15.0 cm/H2O
CPAP Software: EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #8
RE: Will a 20 volt DC converter work with the S9?
(02-27-2016 06:21 AM)pholynyk Wrote:  Does anybody know the function of that third pin, the skinny one?

So ResMed can suck more money out of their customers.

They make it so you have to buy THEIR hundred dollar 24 v converter as opposed to just hooking up a perfectly good 24 v source which they may already have or which would be better suited to the pt's needs or task.

Yes, I have a great deal of contempt for ResMed over this issue. But no more than ResMed shows to their customers when they pull crap like this.

OMMOHY
02-27-2016 07:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 882
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #9
RE: Will a 20 volt DC converter work with the S9?
(02-27-2016 07:20 AM)OMyMyOHellYes Wrote:  
(02-27-2016 06:21 AM)pholynyk Wrote:  Does anybody know the function of that third pin, the skinny one?

So ResMed can suck more money out of their customers.

Well, this connector is a standard one and Resmed doesn't make it themselves, so it must have some other use. I'm not saying that they don't want to suck customers our of their money, just that it is not a bespoke one of a kind connector.

Usually in 3 pin connectors the third one is connected to ground. See yer standard 3 pin wall plug for instance.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
02-27-2016 04:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #10
RE: Will a 20 volt DC converter work with the S9?
There is no "ground" per se. That is, there is no "Earth" like there is on a 3 prong AC line plug.
Plus, in house wiring, the ground conductor must be capable of carrying the same current as the hot.
i.e. -- in a house, 20 Ampere circuit, the hot ,neutral and ground are all 12 gauge wire.

I believe it works as 1 fat pin for power. One fat pin as the return.
The "skinny" pin is some sort of sense pin. Note it's limited current capacity.
The shell is connected to a braided shield for EMI suppression.
We have measured Voltages on these pins in old threads.

[Image: KPP.jpg]

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
(This post was last modified: 02-27-2016 05:04 PM by justMongo.)
02-27-2016 05:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question What Pulse Oximeters work with SleepyHead? jerod 20 7,586 09-05-2016 05:47 PM
Last Post: Marthajoy7
  [Pressure] Any way to work around lowest pressure setting? frankzzz 6 511 08-17-2016 04:54 PM
Last Post: frankzzz
  System One + Flash Air WiFi + Modem? Will it all work? marc31 4 324 07-18-2016 11:58 PM
Last Post: DariaVader
  Major dental work and mask PaulaO2 20 1,186 07-01-2016 09:43 AM
Last Post: green wings
Arrow [CPAP] nose surgery = open air way = Bi pap doesn't work? TMONK 6 569 06-17-2016 06:07 PM
Last Post: richb
  Can't work out my results Rip and Rosie 7 843 03-11-2016 11:10 AM
Last Post: OpalRose
  Still can't get CMS50D+ to work Jim Bronson 9 1,023 11-05-2015 11:30 AM
Last Post: Jim Bronson

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)