Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Will a 20 volt DC converter work with the S9?
#11
Hi toller,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Much success to you as you continue your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#12
(02-27-2016, 04:01 PM)eseedhouse Wrote:
(02-27-2016, 07:20 AM)OMyMyOHellYes Wrote:
(02-27-2016, 06:21 AM)pholynyk Wrote: Does anybody know the function of that third pin, the skinny one?

So ResMed can suck more money out of their customers.

Well, this connector is a standard one and Resmed doesn't make it themselves, so it must have some other use. I'm not saying that they don't want to suck customers our of their money, just that it is not a bespoke one of a kind connector.

Usually in 3 pin connectors the third one is connected to ground. See yer standard 3 pin wall plug for instance.

Please read more carefully.

Nobody said it was a unique connector.

It is how they have programmed their machines to pick up some mystery signal off that third pin from their proprietary DC DC "converter" in order to work. All so you can't go to Mouser Electric and buy the connector and just hook up a 24 V battery to run the machine.

OMMOHY
Post Reply Post Reply
#13
FYI:

I've found that the A10 will run from a +24 volt power supply when the center pin is connected to +3.3 volts thru a 2.7k ohm resistor. I use a +3.3 volt three-terminal voltage regulator fed from the +24 volt power supply. The resistor functions as a pull-up resistor to +3.3 volts and tells the cpap the power rating of the supply. I've tested this on two units.

I realize that this discussion is about the S9 but it's possible this will work on the S9 too.

Someone could measure the third pin of an S9 DC to DC converter or a S9 AC supply with a dc voltmeter. If it measures +3.3 volts with respect to common, then it's probably using the same scenario as the A10.

Because the series resistor provides current limiting protection for the cpap, I don't think it would be too risky to try.


Steve



Just my personal opinion. My posts are not medical advice or a statement of fact. Please consult a qualified physician or other qualified medical personnel. Please comply with all applicable laws, codes, regulations, and protocols.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Equipment] Does SleepyHead work with Resmed respirators NoRestForWicked 13 384 03-22-2018, 04:58 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
Sad [CPAP] F&P ICON+ Auto Doesn't work Pls help! Hiroshi Kimura 3 174 03-17-2018, 03:33 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
Question Camping using Converter elbie 20 1,642 02-07-2018, 09:37 PM
Last Post: SideSleeper
  How to know if Humidifier doesn't work? bluemom51 4 290 02-03-2018, 09:03 PM
Last Post: kiwii
  [Equipment] BiXPower Battery and converter for ResMed AirSense 10 Herwig P 4 342 01-03-2018, 04:30 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  How does CPAP actually work? morpheus1958 6 319 12-21-2017, 08:47 PM
Last Post: morpheus1958
  DC Converter for use with Dreamstation Auto BiPAP BiPAPman 5 246 12-08-2017, 10:33 AM
Last Post: BiPAPman

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.